We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with some problems.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Red Oaks Mill Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST VALUE RATE BOOK NOW
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Brant Lake, NY
1 review
“Nice place with some problems.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A very pleasant, quiet setting but poorly designed for handicapped and roller bags. Room fine, except for the bathroom being very cramped and hair dryer housing being loose. The breakfast was about average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RICHARD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroll R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Next time you are in our area may I suggest that you choose our Suites if you are looking for an over sized bathroom. The Suite’s bathrooms come with a walk in shower and a Jacuzzi that is over sized as well as a separate living room. The Suites are well worth the few dollars more if you are going to be here for multiple nights. If you don't want to pay the extra money for a Suite we do have handicap rooms that have a larger bathroom that may be to your liking. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
RI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Went to Poughkeepsie to see family for Thanksgiving. Rather than crowding into a relative's house, we booked the Best Western Plus for our stay.

As noted before, it is a ways off the main thoroughfare (Rt. 9) but driving up, the hotel has a very nice shingle exterior. Although we were early they found us an available room. Very nice decor. Felt very clean and well kept (workers were blowing leaves when we arrived).

Beds were very comfortable and everything seeemed to be going well. When I went to shave in the morning I noticed that the hot water did not last very long. I thought it might have been an aberration but I mentioned it to my wife before she got into the shower. She quickly found out it was no abberation! She classified her shower as lukewarm at best. She wasn't able to shave her legs as the combination of goosebumps and her desire to get the heck out of that shower as quickly as possible prevented it.

I looked around our rooom and found no hot water heater unit specific to our room. I figured it couldn't be that bad and I jumped in for my shower. Easily the quickest shower I have taken in a number of years. I did notice that just as I was about to jump out the water did warm up a bit.

As I mentioned I would have highly recommended the hotel--but unfortunately we left there with the lasting impression of the cold showers. Maybe it was just our room--but if they can get that licked they have a nice little gem here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitro529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroll R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you had no hot water and that is not the norm. We do have to keep it set at a lower temp then most people would in their own home by law, but certainly hot enough for a nice shower. We are checking on why you did not have hot water that morning making sure that faucets are working properly since this was isolated to just your room. One of the nice qualities of the property is that we are away from the noise of Route 9. We are only 3 miles from the busy extremely crowed Route 9, which makes our hotel unique, quite and relaxing. We hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is not close to the main N/S road in Poughkeepsie (Route 9), where all the restaurants and shops are located. You are several miles away, and at night, it can be confusing. We had a difficult time finding the place, but thankfully, the wonderful front-desk young lady was exceptionally kind and efficient, worked with us while on the phone/driving, and she looked up Google maps for better directions. A suggestion to the management would be to have posted, detailed directions for all of the front-desk clerks. When you are not familiar with a city, and many streets have multiple names, it can be confusing.

We found the hotel to be nice, overpriced, but up to par with Best Western standards. When we arrived, it was in the low 40s outside, and there did not seem to be any heat in the main hallway to the guest rooms. Also troubling, their ONE hotel computer was broken and inoperable. When you pay $150 for a room in a hotel, you expect them to have a working computer. Most other Best Westerns have two computers for their guests' convenience.

The water next to the hotel was pretty, but we probably will not return because of the location. This would be a pretty place for a wedding or family reunion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTravel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroll R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments, this helps us to make our hotel better for you and future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
270 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

While the location is far from the central arteries of town, the location is beautiful and I can certainly see the draw of being by the water with the beautiful scenery of this location. That being said, the problem here is the details....

When we entered the room, there was a green plastic cap from a soda bottle, left behind by housekeeping. If you miss something so large, do you think that I expected that you did a good job? In the coffee maker was a used and wet coffee pod, I shudder to think how long that was there. Incidentally, that was the only coffee pod in the room, there were no fresh ones to make coffee, not that I was going to use that coffee maker, because obviously it hadn't been cleaned. There were no glasses in the room either. And seriously, if you are going to repaint the ceiling of a room, do you honestly think that painting everything except for the six foot by one foot space above the valance isn't going to be noticed? (Especially when the valance is a foot below the ceiling?) And the colours are several shades different?

It all makes you wonder if there is a check-list for the housekeepers to use to ensure that everything is done. Coffee maker empty? clean? Check. Two drinking glasses? Check. Pick up garbage on floor? Check. Is the room clean? Check. Did someone else double-check the room? Nope.

Room Tip: Beautiful view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelAdviceCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroll R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for all your great points, they are very helpful to us. We strive to make the hotel the very best it can be and we take all feed back and use it to better our staff and property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have stayed here for the last 7 yrs. 3-4 times each year. The hotel is great with friendly employees, beautiful location and cozy rooms. Kid friendly and a great value. Will definitely stay here every time I visit Poughkeepsie.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carroll1137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As one of many hotels we used on our recent tour of New England and up-state New York we found The Inn & Suites at the Falls, Poughkeepsie, NY a lovely place to stay. Cheerful & helpful staff and a good manager who realises it's important to talk to customers as well as her staff.
We used this hotel as it was a good base for Hancock Shaker Village (around 1 hour) and the Mark Twain Museum, Hartford (about an hour).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroll R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Even tho we scored this for a super bargain on PriceLine.com we were given a lovely room with 2 queen beds, desk with 2 chairs, upholstered chair, fridge and huge bathroom that overlooked the small river. Nice continental breakfast plus 2 complimentary newspapers. Other reviews talk about being hard to find: I disagree, it's an easy drive from the conjested main road (Rt9) back to the hotel. Front desk was manned by a young woman who was clueless and unfriendly - she said she was brand new - but it didnt really matter since we had no reason for her assistance after check-in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnyrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroll R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Training our staff is an on going process and we are sorry she was not as helpful as she should have been. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poughkeepsie
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
Residence Inn Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
4.6 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls

Address: 50 Red Oaks Mill Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy complimentary beer and wine daily at our Manager's Reception 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast each morning. We are a new 100% renovated hotel in the Historic Hudson Valley. Near IBM, Vassar and Marist Colleges. We have a beautiful setting along the water to relax after a busy day of site seeing or business meetings. Our hotel offers guests a country setting just minutes from Route 9 and all that the Hudson Valley has to offer. We have a 24 hour business center and state of the art fitness center. Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet in the entire hotel and select rooms with Wired High Speed internet also. All rooms have Mircowave and Fridge. Enjoy a Jacuzzi whirlpool in all the King Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls Hotel Poughkeepsie
Best Western Plus The Inn And Suites At The Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing