We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you're into a delicious Indian with a decent price - this should be your call.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kismat

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kismat
50 Raymond Ave, Poughkeepsie, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 243 Restaurants in Poughkeepsie
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“When you're into a delicious Indian with a decent price - this should be your call.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just love this small place in the middle of Raymond Ave. in Poughkeepsie. Simple, priced well, and just GOOD food... if you're into Indian food (which we are). Never tried their weekend buffet but sure it is great based on the dishes already had there. Their Vindaloo dishes (chicken / lamb / ...)...ahm... YUMMY :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food. Good Prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

we had planned to visit one of the other bistros. But it was crowded. Just down the block was Kismat. It's a small family restaurant. But, it's good homestyle Indian cooking. The food was fresh. We ordered a Tagli - a combination plate of 3 different dishes. Excellent choice. For $20 including the tip we had more than enough. Very well prepared. If you like Indian spice, go for medium heat. The mild was too mild for our palate, but good none the less.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“if you blink you'll walk right by it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

went to kismat today with my daughter at 4pm we're the only guests at the time.i must say the food was very good and fresh with just the right amount of spice for my tongue.the naan was perfect,i had the chicken chana masala and my daughter had chicken tikka masala both were very good with great flavor. i would drive the distance again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Friendly family owned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We walked in at 9:30 on Sunday night, place was empty because it was officially closed, but they didn't even mention that to us. Gave us relaxed, friendly service and good Indian food. Never rushed us or told us they were staying open just for us.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Indian for the Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

There's not much around in the area...I've lived in the UK and know how to cook, but this place comes right in the middle...decent value, a little oily but overall it's pretty good. Not much of alternative choices in the area. The Tikka kabab is really good....

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kismat also viewed

Poughkeepsie, NY
 

Been to Kismat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kismat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.