We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2361 South Road, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Island, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is exactly what you'd want and expect from a hotel. We only stayed one night on our way home from upstate New York. The beds were comfortable, clean linens, clean towels. Nice, large, clean bathroom. Shower was roomy with sliding glass doors that are always better than curtains! The breakfast was plentiful. Front desk was very friendly. What more could you ask for in a quick stay?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterTroiano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of our property! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, this is the type of satisfaction that we are always striving to achieve. Thanks again and we look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in the Poughkeepsie area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    137
    50
    16
    17
See reviews for
160
108
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed the week of July 21 and checked out on July 26. This hotel provided us a length of stay price since we stayed longer than 5 days in which I see it saved us at least $ 50 per night over the regular nightly rate. The ammenities are standard for the Hampton Inn chain. Breakfast was fully stocked every morning. The service was great and the hotel personnel was very helpful during our stay. The fitness room - one maching was not working and of course that was the machine I wanted to use. Housekeeping came and said they were waiting for a part. Besides that, it was a great week up in the Hudson Valley and if we come back to this area, we would consider coming back to this Hampton Inn,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterTroiano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review of our hotel! It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests. I'm very sorry to hear that one of our fitness machines was not working, and I will be making sure that it gets fixed. In spite of this I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we have the privilege of having you as our guest again the next time you are here in Poughkeepsie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stopped in the Poughkeepsie area on a drive north over the 4th of July holiday. We stayed here as it was close to the Walkway over the Hudson and the fireworks.

The hotel was very clean. Lots of parking. Friendly staff at the front desk. The room itself was spacious. The bed comfortable. The bathroom clean with an great shower. The wifi worked fine.

Thanks to a wedding using this as their lodging, the breakfast area was crowded in the morning, but the staff kept things well stocked.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterTroiano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a glowing review of our property! I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The hotel was near the walkway over the Hudson, The FDR and Val Kil cottage of Eleanor Roosevelt and we were so happy with the restaurant that was next door to the hotel. Great Italian food and we did not have to get back in the car. But plenty of other places to eat very close.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterTroiano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel! I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our location convenient for your overall experience. We look forward to having you as our guest again the next time you are here in the Poughkeepsie area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, NY, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Wanted to stay at a clean place that had a decent rating. There seems to be a BIG disconnect between $80-100 rooms and $180 rooms. We wanted to stay in Kingston, NY but everything was booked solid weeks in advance of our trip so we had to go further away. Hotel was clean and comfortable and seemed full. Everything worked. Staff nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterTroiano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a pleasant review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. This time of year is a busy time for hotels in this area, as evidenced by the lack of availability in Kingston. Due to high demand, hotel rates do go up during this busy period, and we price our rooms competitively with all other hotels to offer our guests the best possible value. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again the next time you visit the Hudson Valley area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a great hampton inn with a SUPER STAFF, which is kind helpful and always going the extra mile. The hotel is clean well kept the rooms were very nicely kept as well. If your in poughkeepsie this is the place to stay hands down.

Room Tip: room 129 is a great suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterTroiano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a glowing review of our property! It has been an absolute pleasure hosting your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

You can't ask for much more than a clean and quiet place to stay, and this place fits the bill. The location is good - we were going back and forth between Poughkeepsie and Hyde Park and it was easy to get around. The staff were all helpful and friendly. And the room was quiet and clean. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterTroiano, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a pleasant review of our hotel! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that all aspects of our property- from cleanliness to hospitality services- were up to the excellent standards that we are always striving to uphold. Thanks again and we look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in Poughkeepsie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie

Address: 2361 South Road, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie hotel, situated in the heart of the Hudson Valley, right next door to IBM HQ. Our inviting hotel is located near exciting kayaking, fishing and boating opportunities. Enjoy a day's shopping at the Poughkeepsie Galleria or play golf with friends on local courses. Explore Marist College and Vassar College, and discover a range of art galleries on Main Street and the Waterfront only minutes away. Take advantage of easy access from NYC with the Metro North (MTA), just 5 miles from the hotel. Unwind in a comfortable guest room and enjoy a range of amenities for your comfort and convenience. Relax with a movie and choice of premium channels on a LCD TV when staying at this hotel in Poughkeepsie, NY. Catch up with work at the desk and stay connected with business using our WiFi. Rest easily on a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Choose a spacious suite with a seating area and in-room microwave and refrigerator, or unwind in one of the whirlpool suites. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) in the restaurant or grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag and enjoy breakfast on the go. Work out in the fitness center or revive with a refreshing swim in the pool while staying at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie. Stay in touch with work in the business center and hold successful meeting and conferences in our two versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Hampton Inn Poughkeepsie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.