We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hampton Inn! Lives up to the Hilton reputation!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2361 South Road, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hampton Inn! Lives up to the Hilton reputation!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a great stay at this very clean and comfortable Hampton Inn. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms felt newly appointed and clean. In addition to changing the bedspread covers for every guest, their mattresses were oh so comfy! Right down the street is the Culinary Institute of America. A great spot to have a delicious meal!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you from the team at the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie NY for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I'm happy to see our wonderful staff exceeded your expectations. Our staff displays HAMPTONALITY everyday and I'm delighted you were able to witness it firsthand. I am also glad you enjoyed our town - we have some amazing restaurants and shops and I am glad you were able to enjoy what Poughkeepsie has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    137
    50
    16
    17
See reviews for
160
109
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Staff admitted this is a common problem. You need to check your mattress before sleeping in rooms! Once we discovered the problem the staff was helpful in moving us to a new room and putting all our clothes through their dryers. But, if you're going to stay here check the mattress and bed skirt before bringing your items into the room!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Rob,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us via TripAdvisor. We are so sorry for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay and we appreciate your flexibility as we worked to correct the situation. We know all too well there is always a risk that hitchhiking bed bugs will be introduced into one of our hotel guestrooms. Catching bed bugs ahead of a guest sighting/attack is clearly the best possible outcome; however sometimes that is not possible like in your case. Our entire property is inspected thoroughly and routinely for Bed Bugs as well as other Common Pest activity. Every member of our staff and management team is trained on a regular basis in the proper procedures for dealing with potential pest issues including Bed Bugs. Prevention is our highest priority. Please know that we take the health and safety of our guests very seriously and as such we work closely with a professional pest control company to address and prevent situation as yours. The necessary measures were already taken. I am grateful you allowed us to find you a more comfortable room for the duration of your stay and actions that my team members took were prompt. That shows me that constant training is paying off. I hope you will consider visiting us again should you return to our area in the future. Like I mentioned on the phone when we spoke early this week If we may be of any additional assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel was comfortable and clean. My room was at the end of the main floor with a private entrance. I had access to the laundry, pool and business center right outside my door. There is a free breakfast served each morning. I had a nice kitchenette thst gave me the option to have fod in my room as well. This as an excellent choice for my extended stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your review and recommendation to other travelers. Your kind words and mention of future visits mean the world to us. If there is anything we could have done to make your stay more enjoyable please let me know. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This property is really nice! Clean, efficient and the staff is incredibly friendly. I stay in Hampton Inns every week and I am usually pleased by the service and quality, but this property is as good as any Hampton anywhere! Nice Italian restaurant next door that delivers to the room. I am definitely returning to this Hampton on future business trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad you decided to give our hotel a try and found the amenities and the customer service were more than you expected. Thank you for staying with us and you look forward to seeing you when...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went here with our kids for a few days to enjoy some of the local Hudson Valley sites. Check-in was smooth and the front desk personal were very friendly. The room was clean and pleasant and beds were comfortable. There are beautiful framed photos of local attractions throughout the hotel- a nice departure from the typical 'bland' images. We got a lot of use out of the pool and enjoyed the varied breakfast that was offered each morning. My only complaint would have to be with the chairs (and rugs) that are in the room and in the lobby/breakfast area- the fabric has MULTIPLE stains that are very visible- really unpleasant- especially when you're about to sit down and eat. I am hopeful that they will either reupholster or replace before we visit again.
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I've shared your kind words with our entire staff and they are delighted to know you enjoyed your visit. Your feedback is truly valued. Thank you again for bringing to my attention stains on our chairs we will try to pay more attention to those moving forward. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Poughkeepsie, NY. Please contact us for your next reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went here with our kids for a few days to enjoy some of the local Hudson Valley sites. Check-in was smooth and the front desk personal were very friendly. The room was clean and pleasant and beds were comfortable. There are beautiful framed photos of local attractions throughout the hotel- a nice departure from the typical 'bland' images. We got a lot of use out of the pool and enjoyed the varied breakfast that was offered each morning. My only complaint would have to be with the chairs (and rugs) that are in the room and in the lobby/breakfast area- the fabric has MULTIPLE stains that are very visible- really unpleasant- especially when you're about to sit down and eat. I am hopeful that they will either reupholster or replace before we visit again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I've shared your kind words with our entire staff and they are delighted to know you enjoyed your visit. Your feedback is truly valued. Thank you again for bringing to my attention stains on our chairs we will try to pay more attention to those moving forward. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Poughkeepsie, NY. Please contact us for your next reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good value. Good location on Main Road close to shopping, restaurants, and downtown Poughkeepsie. Room was very clean and comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was awesome - you can even cook your own waffles!

Room Tip: All rooms seem equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites for you recent stay in Poughkeepsie. We are pleased to hear you found the staff to be friendly and the hotel in a great location. We are so glad you loved your stay and hope to see you again soon! In hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie

Address: 2361 South Road, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#2 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie hotel, situated in the heart of the Hudson Valley, right next door to IBM HQ. Our inviting hotel is located near exciting kayaking, fishing and boating opportunities. Enjoy a day's shopping at the Poughkeepsie Galleria or play golf with friends on local courses. Explore Marist College and Vassar College, and discover a range of art galleries on Main Street and the Waterfront only minutes away. Take advantage of easy access from NYC with the Metro North (MTA), just 5 miles from the hotel. Unwind in a comfortable guest room and enjoy a range of amenities for your comfort and convenience. Relax with a movie and choice of premium channels on a LCD TV when staying at this hotel in Poughkeepsie, NY. Catch up with work at the desk and stay connected with business using our WiFi. Rest easily on a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Choose a spacious suite with a seating area and in-room microwave and refrigerator, or unwind in one of the whirlpool suites. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) in the restaurant or grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag and enjoy breakfast on the go. Work out in the fitness center or revive with a refreshing swim in the pool while staying at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie. Stay in touch with work in the business center and hold successful meeting and conferences in our two versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Hampton Inn Poughkeepsie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.