We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poughkeepsie is a keeper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2361 South Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Poughkeepsie
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poughkeepsie is a keeper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was a great stay, comfortable rooms with a great breakfast. The staff was friendly, respectful and very accomadating. It is a trip to the bouroughs and with traffic you will want to leave plenty of time but if you don't have to go into the city it is a wonderful location with great
restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and in Poughkeepsie NY, - there are so many great restaurants, bars and shops! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    86
    27
    13
    14
See reviews for
100
68
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were visiting FDR's home and spent the weekend here.

The front desk was very professional, and we got to our room very quickly. The property cant be more than 5 years old, so everything is in good shape.

The breakfast was excellent, and the staff who were working then deserve credit for making sure that all was in tip top shape.

Our room was a bit on the small side, and was on the second floor facing the parking lot. There were no sheer curtains. If we wanted privacy and not to be part of the activities of the parking lot, we would shut the blackout curtains, but that would make the room really dark. I think that windows facing the parking lot would benefit from some intermediate privacy screening like sheer curtains.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that dont face the parking lot, and are higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for submitting your feedback regarding your stay with us in ….. The entire staff truly appreciates your kind words and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Please contact us the next time your travels bring you to Poughkeepsie, NY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were very impressed with this Hampton Inn. There were many families displaced by Hurricane Sandy staying in the hotel. The staff could not have been more considerate. They even allowed us to hold a reservation and gave us the option for late-cancel at no additional charge due to the storm circumstances. The property was pleasant, new and clean. Breakfast area was comfortable with many options available to eat. We would go again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you from the team at the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie NY for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I'm happy to see our wonderful staff exceeded your expectations and was able to bring some smile to you under stressful situation. Our staff displays HAMPTONALITY everyday and I'm delighted you were able to witness it firsthand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed there for a week in the month of September, 2010. Its located adjacent to the IBM campus making it a lot easy for me. The rooms are good. However there is a small catch. The rooms on the lower floors on the rear side (non-road facing side) nestle near an giant generator set which can really get intrusive on your sleep. Fortunately the jet lag and time zone differences really knocked me off every night. But I would definitely avoid it next time around. The breakfast spread is nice.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower floors on the rear side of the hotel - It faces a huge generator which can really be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff, we appreciate you taking the time to write your review of our property. I've shared your comments with our staff at our recent team huddle. We are very sorry for any hassle or stress that our outise equipment may caused you during your stay with us and we would really love to have you back so we can show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about.We hope to see you again the next time you visit Poughkeepsie, NY. We're delighted you chose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
469 reviews 469 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The stay was efficient, the fire alarm went off in ther night, but otherwise nothing too fancy to report from our stay in Poughkeepsie, which is quite close to Vassar College.

Forgot to say, the frontdesk is very considerate and friendly

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you from the team at the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie NY for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. I'm sorry about the Fire Alarm however some things are out of our control and guest safety is our first priority. Our staff displays HAMPTONALITY everyday and I'm delighted you were able to witness it firsthand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamison, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night here before a course at the CIA. We had a queen suite which was a large room with two comfortable queen beds. Breakfast is included which was your typical Hampton Inn breakfast. I tried the scrambled eggs which were not very all so I just had a yogurt instead.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We appreciate you filling out our review on TripAdvisor! the staff is greatly invested in their property, looking to provide the best in comfort and cleanliness. Thank you for noticing their efforts, we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was one of the better priced chain hotels in POK, but it had everything we wanted... Spacious, clean and modern pool& whirlpool, helpful staff, comfortable, clean & stylish common lounge area, free wifi and parking, very comfortable and clean beds, and hot breakfast included with stay. We will definitely return - with our swimsuits!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnSuitesGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
On behalf of our entire staff, we appreciate you taking the time to write your review of our property. I've shared your comments with our staff at our recent team huddle. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Poughkeepsie, NY. Just please make sure you have your swimsuites with you. We're delighted you chose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie Hotel
Hampton Inn Poughkeepsie
Address: 2361 South Road, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#4 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.