We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home during a difficult time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2361 South Road, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Home away from home during a difficult time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our family made a last minute trip to Poughkeepsie for a funeral and all the staff at the hotel made our stay as pleasant as possible. Special mention to the staff tending to the morning breakfast, food was always topped off and this place offers so much more than just a generic continental breakfast with a lot of very healthy options (oatmeal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs different ways, etc.). The rooms were clean, spacious and the beds were very comfortable. A big thank you to the entire staff that made our stay one less concern or worry for us- we felt at home and were able to rest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamptonInn_Suites, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are so glad that you felt comfortable at our hotel during a very difficult time for you. We hope that you are able to stay with us again soon and enjoy the beautiful Hudson Valley area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    124
    40
    15
    17
See reviews for
144
107
16
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

In town to take part in some fall activities (apple picking, etc), we stayed at the hotel for only one night. Our room was a King whirlpool suite- which was quite large and very clean. Due to limited availability, we slept 4 people to the room- two in the King bed and two on the sofa bed (not very comfortable). While there was enough space for the four of us- we were surprised at the open lay out of the bathroom, which didn't allow for much privacy during showering/changing. We did not take advantage of the continental breakfast- though the selection looked pretty good. As for location- hotel was situated ~ 15 minutes from the CIA. Overall, the room served our needs pretty well and I would consider staying there again if in town for the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamptonInn_Suites, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn & Suites for you recent stay in Poughkeepsie. We are pleased to hear you found the hotel in a great location. We are so glad you loved your stay and hope to see you again soon! In hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed only one night and didn't use the pool or eat the breakfast, so this review feels incolete. The hotel is convenient to the colleges which is why we were there. It is clean and the desk staff seemed friendly enough, which is important! The room was large, clean and the bed was very comfortable. It is strange that there wasn't a fridge in the room but that was the only issue. Just a little pricey though...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamptonInn_Suites, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I have shared your comments with our staff and they were very thankful. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I had to stay at the Hampton Inn in Poughkeepsie and was so very very pleased. The check-in process was awesome and fast, i was met with welcoming smiles and wished a pleasant stay...Front desk staff rock when you make me feel welcome. To my surprise i get a wonderful large room with 2 twin beds and sofa bed and mini kitchenette. The room was very clean and passed the dirty room test i usually do when i check into a hotel..There was more than amply supply of towels and toiletries in room and coffee and even a welcoming popcorn. I was there to attend a wedding and did not get to return to the hotel for the night but when i called to have my folio faxed to me it was done in an expedited manner. Thank you Hampton Inn Poughkeepsie... i want to visit again.

Room Tip: be very nice and courteous to the front desk staff....show some respect to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamptonInn_Suites, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad you decided to give our hotel a try and found the amenities and the customer service were more than you expected. Thank you for staying with us and you look forward to seeing you when...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I had just come from Manhattan with its tiny hotel rooms, so I could hardly believe the size of this suite. I also liked the thoughtful touches, like a padded lap tray for your laptop. I booked the hotel through Hotwire, so I wasn't sure what to expect. Was happy with what I got.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamptonInn_Suites, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Hello - I appreciate you staying with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel. I hope to have you stay with us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berks County, PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Hampton Inn near Poughkeepsie, NY. Because the weekend we wanted to travel was a popular choice in the area, the only room we were able to book was a king suite, so we splurged. Our room was clean and spacious. The king-sized bed was quite comfortable. The room temp was well maintained by the heating/air-conditioning without being too dry. Our suite included a small sink area on a granite counter with the coffee maker, plus a small refrigerator. The bathroom vanity was outside of the shower/toilet area and included plenty of space on the granite countertop, plus a storage area below. The room also included a desk with chair, sleeper sofa, coffee table, and a comfy armchair. We didn't have time to use the gym or pool, but they looked nice. We had the included breakfast each morning. There was a nice selection including an egg option, meat option, varied fresh fruits and cereals, juices, coffee, tea, and pastries. During busy times they got a little behind with keeping everything refilled. The food quality was about what you'd expect at a hotel buffet--nothing more, nothing less. However, it was quick and convenient. Overall, we had a nice stay and would return again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamptonInn_Suites, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We appreciate you filling out our review on TripAdvisor! the staff is greatly invested in their property, looking to provide the best in comfort and cleanliness. Thank you for noticing their efforts, we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here for a friend's wedding weekend. Even with the group rate, a base price of $159/night seemed like too much to pay for this type of accommodation. Also, there was lots of noise in the halls all night. The breakfast was decent, but not enough to make up for what seemed like too big of a price tag for this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie

Address: 2361 South Road, US-Route 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Poughkeepsie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#1 Business Hotel in Poughkeepsie
#3 Family Hotel in Poughkeepsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie hotel, situated in the heart of the Hudson Valley, right next door to IBM HQ. Our inviting hotel is located near exciting kayaking, fishing and boating opportunities. Enjoy a day's shopping at the Poughkeepsie Galleria or play golf with friends on local courses. Explore Marist College and Vassar College, and discover a range of art galleries on Main Street and the Waterfront only minutes away. Take advantage of easy access from NYC with the Metro North (MTA), just 5 miles from the hotel. Unwind in a comfortable guest room and enjoy a range of amenities for your comfort and convenience. Relax with a movie and choice of premium channels on a LCD TV when staying at this hotel in Poughkeepsie, NY. Catch up with work at the desk and stay connected with business using our WiFi. Rest easily on a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Choose a spacious suite with a seating area and in-room microwave and refrigerator, or unwind in one of the whirlpool suites. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast(R) in the restaurant or grab a Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bag and enjoy breakfast on the go. Work out in the fitness center or revive with a refreshing swim in the pool while staying at Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie. Stay in touch with work in the business center and hold successful meeting and conferences in our two versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie Hotel Poughkeepsie
Hampton Inn Poughkeepsie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Suites Poughkeepsie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.