We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smalling Motel South

Smalling Motel South
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Potsdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smalling Motel South
7518 US Highway 11, Potsdam, NY 13676   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Potsdam B&B and Inns
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Typical Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It was clean and well-maintained. There was a Renu-zit air freshener in the room which gave off a funky smell, so I put it outside for the night and took some migraine medicine because smells trigger migraines. My daughter said it was fine, and she didn't notice the smell, so unless you are hypersensitive to smells, it won't be an issue. I did not tell the proprietor, since there was no way she could have known I was sensitive to smells. The cost was a little high considering there is another motel right down the road for almost half the price. It was very conveniently located and easy to access.

Room Tip: The pool was not terrible; they just didn't have one. I couldn't get it not to put a dot in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The family that owns the Smalling was really nice. The room is simple, but spotlessly clean. If you like a firm mattress, you'll like this one but it was too firm for us. They could use a few more or some new pillows. The coffee and muffins for breakfast are a nice touch. For the price, it's a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed at the Smalling Motel South when visiting my son at Potsdam. It is in a convenient location and despite being set back from a main road was really quiet. Outside the back window of my room there was just quiet snowy woodland.

The facilities weren't fancy but all were clean and comfortable. They provide coffee, juice and muffins in the morning in the reception area, and there are fridges in the rooms.

I would definitely stay here again. The price makes it very good value, and I can't see a good reason to justify paying a higher price to stay elsewhere locally when I next visit Potsdam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Smalling Motel South is spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and great service. You can not beat the price/value in the St. Lawrence County area. The staff is super friendly and breakfast is included.

Highly recommended..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Large Room, very Clean and quiet. Great Muffins in the Morning. The Bed and Pillows were very firm and comfortable. The wall Air Conditioner work great. The only downside was the weak flow from the Shower Head.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smalling Motel South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smalling Motel South

Address: 7518 US Highway 11, Potsdam, NY 13676
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Potsdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smalling Motel South has been in business for almost 30 years - 14 years at our current location. We value our reputation for offering clean, comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our manager is on the premises to help make your stay more comfortable. 16 Rooms with 1 Queen or 2 Double Beds, 1 set of Adjoining Rooms, 1 Handicapped Equipped Room with 2 Double Beds, Free Wireless Internet, 32" Flat Screen TVs, Free Cable with HBO, Refrigerators, Air Conditioning & Hair Dryers in All Rooms. For your comfort all rooms are non-smoking. Sorry - No Pets Allowed. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smalling Motel South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smalling Motel South to your Saves list