We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another delightful delicious dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1844 House

1844 House
6885 Rt 11, Potsdam, NY 13676
315-268-1844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Potsdam
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another delightful delicious dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Enjoyed another wonderful dinner from the seafood bisque to salmon and the super chocolate desert. Service is always good and the food is consistent. Will not be disappointed. Save it for a special occasion though because it is on the expensive side.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    15
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional food over St. Lawrence Parent's Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

What an amazing find in-between Canton and Potsdam. I had the salmon with the 1844 dinner size salad. Absolutely amazing. My son had the meatloaf, and he said it was the best he had ever had. My husband...pasta that he too loved. The restaurant is in a small home in the middle of nowhere. Small, close atmosphere, but enough space to relax. Very rural New England style. On our particular night, the restaurant was filled with parents and students of the nearby college. A terrific, fun atmosphere and everyone was raving about the food. I spoke briefly to the chef and his wife. Both stopped by our table and were so welcoming and seemed genuinely thrilled to have us as their guests. This is a must stop for us over the next four years. Absolutely a DO NOT MISS.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Looks like a B&B, - the food is soooooo good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The menu is excellent - as is the food. I had Pumpkin Gnocchi with toasted Pine Nuts and roasted chicken chowder soup. It was delicious and truly gourmet. The presentation is excellent. The service is good - not too much, not too little. I would definitely return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Book well in advance for this 5 Star restaurant in the middle of nowhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The1844 House is a truly 5 Star Restaurant set in an old, very clean and well maintained farmhouse a few miles out of Potsdam toward Canton, After our meals we could only wonder why the chef wasn't using his or her talent in Manhattan or LA -- We guessed that he or she must love snow, farming or maybe they are Breaking Amish but not leaving home. (Watch out for the black wagons on Route 11)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, nice ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great food for a very good price. The decor is eclectic and fun... I was surprised to find such a nice restaurant so tucked away. I go to Potsdam with some regularity because my daughter is a student there. I will definitely go back to the 1844 House. I agree with the reviewer who called it the best dining in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1844 House also viewed

Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
Potsdam, St. Lawrence County
 

Been to 1844 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1844 House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.