We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese in PDubs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yamaguchi Restaurant

Yamaguchi Restaurant
63 Main St, Port Washington, NY 11050-2927
516-883-3500
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
new york
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in PDubs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Loved the seared tuna. A bit more expensive than the other Japanese, but excellent quality and service.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quaint Traditional Japanese on Main Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

With less than an hour before a movie down the block we tried this neighborhood gem. The very accommodating staff took our drink order and promptly returned for our food order. Individual salads almost immediately appeared with a generous bowl of dressing(I detected notes of carrot and fish sauce) so we could serve ourselves. We opened with a order or well prepared vegetable tempura. The grilled chicken entree was thoroughly cooked, overcooked by my standards but my companion who ordered it was pleased. The rest of us ordered broiled salmon with sauce on the side, I found it tasty but dry but again another in our party likes her fish well cooked. The accompaniments of ground radish and an asian long bean were good. A complimentary plate of sliced fruit for dessert was a wecome surprise. Definitely a winner to which we will return, and we made it to the movie in time to see the coming attractions. There was also a sushi bar we did not partake.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“all i could ask for and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

worth going, i would want to go back. Food is great but chicken dishes are lacking sauce.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best Japanese food on Long Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Excellent sushi and sashimi and an array of well-prepared traditional Japanese dishes. Very popular - best to make reservations for dinner.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Has lasted for a long time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

While I'm not a big fan of japanise food many of my friends are, I eat cooked food and their shimp are cook to perfection. Nice quite place with great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamaguchi Restaurant also viewed

Port Washington, Long Island
Port Washington, Long Island
 
Port Washington, Long Island
Port Washington, Long Island
 

Been to Yamaguchi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamaguchi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.