We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfort food after a long drive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arlene And Tom's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Arlene And Tom's
265 E Main St, Port Jervis, NY 12771
(845) 856-8488
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 30 restaurants in Port Jervis
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good comfort food after a long drive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We found Arlene and Tom's after a long drive from Virginia. It is a very cozy restaurant that was all decorated up for Halloween. It was fairly busy with only one waitress on duty who promptly attended to us and took our orders. The food was a little long in coming but the quality of the food more than made up for the wait. The portions were large and the pork and chicken specials were very tasty. They had a very tempting dessert menu with many choices including a number of pies but we had already eaten too much. The restaurant is also decorated with many old photographs of this historic town and is certainly worth a visit if you are passing that way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    8
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stopped while riding my motorcycle through NJ and NY. Best burgers!! Great service and very reasonably priced. I recommend this restaurant highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great casual restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here today with my wife after reading good reviews and was very happy. I ordered the pastrami on rye w/ potato salad & manhattan clam chowder. Wife ordered BLT & fries. Pastrami was excellent, potato salad was great and soup was very good. Had a bite of the BLT and that was very good too although BLT is pretty easy to make. Inside decor is old and rustic but comfortable. Check came out to $23 w/out tip. Definitely planning a return trip to try out their breakfast menu!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Solid old school family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This homey restaurant provides an excellent home cooked breakfast with nice service and a country feel. We went as a group and all were satisfied with their selections from pancakes to omelets to corn beef hash. And good coffee !!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Family restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Arlene and Tom's after a day in High Point State Park. We were hungry and just looking for something to eat. The food was really good with that homemade taste. The girls had chicken noodle soup and loved it. The portions were enough to satisfy our hunger. The place looks old, but is clean and comfortable. Service was a little slow, there was only one waitress and she was working hard to serve all tables. Finding this restaurant was the perfect way to finish our visit to High Point with friends

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arlene And Tom's also viewed

Port Jervis, NY
Port Jervis, NY
 

Been to Arlene And Tom's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlene And Tom's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.