We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at Danford's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danfords Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Danfords Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Danfords Hotel & Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 East Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Port Jefferson
Reading, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at Danford's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had 3 adults staying in a room in the Admiral/ main building. The room was spacious with 2 double beds and a nice sitting area. The heaters are loud and need updating. The location is great right in downtown Port Jeff. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    63
    31
    27
    21
See reviews for
57
79
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed one night in this lovely, old hotel. It is central to everything we wanted to see in town and right on the water. Everyone was helpful and friendly. We would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed for couple of days at Danford. First room was facing to harbor in 2nd floor. Room was not clean, stains on furniture and even on the pillow. Upholstery was faded as well. Heater makes noise that you cannot sleep. I turned it off to sleep, then the gap under the room door brought in cold air and I could not have good night sleep at all. Front desk was very nice, and they switched my room to a suite, which was much better.
If you have harbor view room you will not have privacy, because people can see inside of your room, unless you shut down curtains. Room doors open to outside directly, which makes this place very unattractive in colder seasons.
Breakfast is free but below average quality. Parking stalls are available and was free in March.
This place is very old, the gym room is very small and nothing there. However it is in walking distance to nice restaurants (Ruvo, Pace's).

Room Tip: Try to find a harbor view room in the main building. Other buildings do not have privacy and cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We received a special rate online so we decided to stay on Saturday,3/2/13 . The room was nice & clean. The bed was comfortable & I Ioved the bathroom(always important)! Nice big stand-up shower. It's a very good location if you're arriving by boat. The bar was nice & the bartender was very friendly & courteous. My only complaint was the room service breakfast. NOT GOOD!!! There was no milk or creamers for coffee, no toast (even though we paid for it), food was room temp (bad for eggs & french toast). Bacon tasted burnt & sausage was not cooked. For $46.00, I was expecting better. If you want to have breakfast, get up & go to the restaurant. With that, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel, while comfortable and clean enough, is past its prime. The central heat in the room did not appear to be turned on or working; instead we had a very nice space heater to heat the room. While quite efficient and quiet, it was very difficult to regulate. The first night my wife and I roasted until I could figure out how to turn it down. The first light that you come to in the room, and hence the one you would use most often, had a defective switch that literally fell on the floor every time you turned it on. If you need to stay in this town, you can certainly do worse, but don't expect a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The room was beautiful and had a nice balcony. It was clean, staff was friendly. The village area is pretty small so you are close to everything. We ate at a great bar nearby with a nice outside deck called Portside. We only stayed here one night and I wish we had stayed longer! Great hotel, although I think it is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

As a gift for my 50th birthday, my Aunt surprised me with an overnight stay with her at Danfords. She had been able to take advantage of a wonderful Groupon offering which included overnight accomodations, two cocktails, two desserts, and breakfast for $99. We arrived at 2:00 pm on a Saturday and were told our room would not be available until 4:00 pm. We had a delightful drink in the waterview bar, and then went to The Blue Sapphire, the onsite Spa. I had never had a facial, and found the entire experience to be absolutely wonderful--very relaxing. After enjoying our "girl time", we went back to the lobby and checked in. The lobby is extremely welcoming, with a fire in the fire place and comfortable furnishings. The only thing that we found a bit odd, is the desk is elevated and you have to climb several steps to get to it--not very steadily if you are as wobbly on your feet as we are. When we called to reserve a room, no waterfront rooms were available, so we were given a room that overlooked the street. The view was nothing to write home about (though the town of Port Jefferson is beautiful and a wonderful place to roam), but the room was very clean and comfortable with two double beds. There was plenty of room for us to move around and the bathroom was quite lovely. We relaxed over a glass of wine we had brought from home and then headed to our 6:30 pm dinner reservation. The restaurant overlooks the ferry terminal and the water. While it was dark out by 6:30 pm and we couldn't see the water, it was kind of neat to watch the ferry to Bridgeport, CT loading and hear the horn sound when it was time to depart. Our server, Kevin, was absolutely wonderful and very helpful in assisting us with our selections. I had a lobster risotto that was absolutely WONDERFUL, my Aunt had a delicious autumn-like ravioli, and two other friends who joined us had the beef special--all excellent. Since our room included dessert--we just couldn't be rude and pass it up! We ordered two very decadent chocolate desserts that looked like a Ring Ding. Kevin poured a hot chocolately sauce over the cake, causing a crater. My Aunt ordered an Irish coffee, and we were somewhat disappointed when she was given what appeared to be a regular cup of coffee--no topping. The whole dinner was absolutely wonderful and I would highly recommend the restaurant at Danfords. We did not feel rushed at all at dinner and had a delightful few hours visiting and dining. We shuffled back across the parking lot to our room (the rooms are in several different buildings, ours being the furthest from the main lobby). We had experienced a dusting of snow and the entire site looked like a postcard from New England. We had a restful night's sleep and awoke ready for our breakfast. I was somewhat unhappy that no one from the hotel's staff had cleared the outside staircase and walkway to our room, as it was very slippery. We walked back over to the restaurant arm-in-arm in an attempt to avoid a fall and handed in our breakfast coupons. We received a very well-stocked buffet breakfast, replete with an omelet station. Sitting at a table overlooking the water, we marvelled at the value we had received for $99 and vowed to come back again soon. Overall, I would highly recommend Danford's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Danfords Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danfords Hotel & Marina

Address: 25 East Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777
Location: United States > New York > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Port Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Danfords Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Danfords Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danfords Hotel And Marina
Danfords Hotel Port Jefferson
Danfords Port Jefferson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danfords Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.