We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but a view!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lombardi's On The Sound

Lombardi's On The Sound
44 Fairway Dr, Port Jefferson, NY 11777
(631) 473-1440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing but a view!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The food was awful the service was poor and the room had a musky smell. I would like to suggest a new chef for the kitchen and tile floors in place of that gross rug. What a shame such a beautiful view!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    26
    12
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I love to watch the sunset, especially on birthdays, anniversaries and other romantic occasions. We are lucky, living on Long Island, to have a large choice of waterfront restaurants and this is the perfect venue. Not only is the view beautiful but the service is excellent, and the food delicious and plentiful. My husband's salmon must have weighed a pound and I had to take a doggie bag home for my zuppa di pesce. Considering the size of the portions and the freshness of the food, the prices are quite fair.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lombardi's Revisited-Sunday Brunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have always had high regard for Lombardi's on the Sound for their evening dining and after having Sunday brunch at Lombardi's on the "Bay", which was a real treat, decided to take the family back to the "Sound" for Sunday brunch. Soooo mediocre! Most of the food was bland to tasteless; the service was poor; had to chase down waitress 3 times for more coffee. Providing patrons with refill is a "no brainer." In a nutshell (no pun intended) won't go back!!!! Will most likely return to Lombardi's on the bay. How can they be of the same family yet so different????

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Consistently good food and great scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have dinned many times here, my husband and I even got married here, and it is a restaurant that consistently has great food every time. No one is ever disappointed with their meal and as alway, there is always a lot of it. I always want to try new restaurants, but I keep coming back here for many reasons. 1. The food is always great. 2. The views are fantastic. I would highly recommend the restaurant and the place as a venue since the food is just as good and plentiful if you have an event here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Gigantic portions, beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited Lombardi's prior to getting onto the Port Jefferson Ferry to return to Connecticut. It is a 5 minute drive from the ferry. Be sure you have it plugged into your GPS as it is off the beaten track. The restaurant is part of a country club and has magnificent views of the Long Island Sound. The outdoor tables have the best views. If sitting inside, try to get a table by the windows.

The food portion sizes are gigantic. It is not officially "family style" but it really is perfect for a large group so everyone can share the food. If you go as a couple, my advice would be to share an appetizer, or each of you order either the salad or pasta as your side, so you can share those also. Come hungry!

The service was friendly, the orders came out fairly quickly, and the food was tasty. I would most definitely recommend this restaurant, especially if you have a larger group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardi's On The Sound also viewed

 
Port Jefferson, NY
Port Jefferson, NY
 

Been to Lombardi's On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lombardi's On The Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.