We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lombardi's On The Sound

Lombardi's On The Sound
44 Fairway Dr, Port Jefferson, NY 11777
(631) 473-1440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

lombardis is just excellent, the best , awesome, epic, phenominal food, so good! oh the best taste of food i ever had!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    15
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hauppauge new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marginal at best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you want wedding catering hall food and service.
And you are smart enough to fill up at the cocktail hour,so when your main course arrives you can pick at it and push it around on your plate and you are talking and enjoying the company of others and not notice or care about the food on your plate.
Then this is the place for you.
Nothing really wrong with anything . If it was a wedding you would say yea it was ok food. And for the most part as long as the service was fast thats all that counts.
Well if Im spending $135.00 for dinner for two. I dont want to be briskly lead to my table,i dont want plates to be tossed down on my table ,with the accurate eye of a vegas magic act.
Im sure the wait person did not, but with the speed that she took our order ,she mite as well have asked meat chicken or fish?
Every person who works in this restaurant had to come rite out of there catering hall.
You would be better off going to some Fridays or apple bees type of restaurant where they train there staff. and the food is tasty . If it was not for my good fortune to have amazing company and conversation .I would have been asking will anyone notice if we leave early.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“classy with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is one of my favorites. Food and staff are top notch. One of the hosts is not so nice. Called to see if we could get a table for two when we arrived. Was told "yes. no problem". When we arrived he told us there was a 45 minute wait. When we told him that we called ahead and was told there was no wait, he got nasty with us.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
205 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Needs better signage - the Lombardi name is no where to be found on this Pt. Jefferson County Clubhouse restaurant. Pretty setting on the LI Sound. Several large groups, but the buffet line was managed well. Typical brunch buffet - fruit, breads, salads. Good omelet station - could use a few more choices but helpful omelet maker! Hot trays were average - choices of pasta, chicken, pork (tough) and fish. Standard desserts of cakes, pudding and a chocolate fountain that was fun. Helpful wait staff! Priced about $40 per person. Bet it would be fun during the warmer months with outdoor seating!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Almost 16 years ago we got married here. Since then, we have been coming to this Italian restaurant on the LI Sound and are never disappointed. The bar is very cozy and welcoming as well. If you love italian food, this is the place to go. We went on Friday night to celebrate Valentine's. There was a guitar player in the bar area which was a nice surprise. Dinner was wonderful and my husband and I both brought plenty home! Another nice addition since we were here last, they had a $30 a bottle wine list. We will keep coming back. We enjoy it every time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardi's On The Sound also viewed

Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 
Port Jefferson, Long Island
Port Jefferson, Long Island
 

Been to Lombardi's On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lombardi's On The Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.