We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lombardi's On The Sound

Lombardi's On The Sound
44 Fairway Dr, Port Jefferson, NY 11777
(631) 473-1440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Mount Sinai, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“classy with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is one of my favorites. Food and staff are top notch. One of the hosts is not so nice. Called to see if we could get a table for two when we arrived. Was told "yes. no problem". When we arrived he told us there was a 45 minute wait. When we told him that we called ahead and was told there was no wait, he got nasty with us.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Needs better signage - the Lombardi name is no where to be found on this Pt. Jefferson County Clubhouse restaurant. Pretty setting on the LI Sound. Several large groups, but the buffet line was managed well. Typical brunch buffet - fruit, breads, salads. Good omelet station - could use a few more choices but helpful omelet maker! Hot trays were average - choices of pasta, chicken, pork (tough) and fish. Standard desserts of cakes, pudding and a chocolate fountain that was fun. Helpful wait staff! Priced about $40 per person. Bet it would be fun during the warmer months with outdoor seating!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Almost 16 years ago we got married here. Since then, we have been coming to this Italian restaurant on the LI Sound and are never disappointed. The bar is very cozy and welcoming as well. If you love italian food, this is the place to go. We went on Friday night to celebrate Valentine's. There was a guitar player in the bar area which was a nice surprise. Dinner was wonderful and my husband and I both brought plenty home! Another nice addition since we were here last, they had a $30 a bottle wine list. We will keep coming back. We enjoy it every time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Big disappointment, Management needs an overhaul, won't bother again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a nearby venue that we’ve always known to be a catering hall. We decided to try the restaurant for the first time having lived in the area for more than twenty years. We called at 7pm on a Saturday night. We were told the wait was 30-40 minutes. They offered an 8pm reservation which we accepted. We arrived at 7:50pm and the hostess said it would be a few more minutes and to enjoy the bar. We sat at the bar and witnessed a foursome who had evidently been at the bar for some length of time awaiting seating in the restaurant. It became clear that they were disgusted by their wait and we overheard them ask for the manager who did not respond. The foursome walked out. Undeterred, we ordered our drinks which took some time and waited to be seated. At 8:30pm the hostess said it would be a few more minutes. At 8:40pm we asked to speak with Angelo who appeared to be in charge at the bar. He did not come over. A few minutes later we asked to speak to a manager. Again no one came over. We paid our bar bill and left. When customers are treated in this manner it does not matter how good your food is, how good your décor is, or even how good your view is. If they’re interested in new customers they will need to reevaluate their business practices. We will not try Lombardi’s on the Sound again and will let others know about our negative experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Choice for my Birthday and Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Always terrific another great dinner at Lombardis. Seafood was awesome. So fresh and tasty. Sauce was delicious for dipping. Great waiter, Lovely view. Great place to have a birthday dinner. Chocolate fudge layer cake Scrumptious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lombardi's On The Sound also viewed

 

Been to Lombardi's On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lombardi's On The Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.