We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ransome Inn B&B

The Ransome Inn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ransome Inn B&B
Save
You added The Ransome Inn B&B to your Saves list
409 East Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777   |  
Hotel amenities
Franklin Square, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

On the spur of the moment we decided to get away for the weekend and took a chance on this bed and breakfast. What a wonderful experience it turned out to be. The owners were great hosts and very friendly. Because it's pet friendly, our dog, Dexter Morgan, also had a great time playing with the owners' four lovely dogs. They were very informative as to where to go in town and where to eat. We were in the room over the garage and it was just beautiful, very spacious and really clean. Absolutely no pet smells or spots anywhere. The next morning we had a great breakfast which consisted of fresh fruit, granola, cream cheese and homemade banana bread which was out of this world. I would definately recommend this place and we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

The suite was amazing, the owners were extremely friendly, and the breakfast was fantastic. Only a short walk to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at the Ransome in May of 2011 while on a continuing trip from North Carolina to Maine via car, rail, ferry and lots more rail. We stayed at the Ransome so as to catch the ferry to Bridgeport.

He picked us up at the train station, gave us a quick tour of the town, pointing out places to eat and see then took us to their place. Because I had spinal problems, he went out of his way to help with the luggage. That evening, realizing I couldn't walk back into town and back with my problems, we asked if they would mind if we ordered in a pizza. Not only did they not mind but she set up the table for us and provided the drinks.

In the morning after cooking us a delicious and eye-catching breakfast, she took us to the ferry terminal.

I would not hesitate to stay there at any time as they were so wonderful to us, so accommodating to my disability as well as our schedule changes and were outstanding hosts. The place is excellent! Stay there if in the area. You will not regret it.

One limitation: While the walk into town is easily doable, for someone with a back problem, you will need to take a taxi and $9+tip is way too high for such a short distance. There is a Suffolk County bus between downtown and the Ransome but their schedule is completely fictional.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island ny
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We had only 1 night to go away and this inn accepted one reservations. As the innkeepers have pets-they tell you this at the time of booking, and I have allergies, we stayed in the "carriage house," which looked like just a room over the garage. Turned out it was a well-appointed beautiful studio apartment. Breakfast the next day was a two course gourmet meal, and Barbara graciously accommodated seating us outside apart from the other guests in order to keep space between me and her cats. Would be happy to return here and while away more time in Port Jeff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Barb and Daniel were the hosts with the most. Our room was spacious, beautiful and clean. Not at all far from town, and definitely worth checking out. -Lisa and John, Merrick, NY

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

I stayed 10 nights at the Ransome Inn in November 2007 whilst visiting Stony Brook University. My stay was very pleasant. Barbara and Dan make good hosts - they have travelled widely and are good conversationalists. Barbara is a good cook and was happy to accommodate my vegetarianism. I enjoyed the home-baked muffins, cinnamon rolls, omelettes and quiche that she prepared for breakfast.

I stayed in the standard room which was certainly fine for one. The bathroom (which was for my exclusive use) was just across the landing and the shower was great. The room could get
slightly chilly at night in November, but extra blankets were provided. There was a fridge with sodas and some nibbles in the room. There was also a good TV (which I hardly watched). The house had wireless internet which was very useful for me as I had brought my laptop.

There were four small dogs and a few cats in the inn but they were very well behaved and enhanced my stay.

I was without a car and used the bus stop less than 10 minutes walk down the hill to catch a bus to the University. The Long Island Rail Road station (with connections to New York City and JFK airport) is 1.2 miles away along a straight, slightly sloping road. There seemed to be yellow taxis meeting each train so walking is not essential. The ferry to Connecticut is also just down the hill near the bus stop.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2006

The Ransome Inn has one "standard room", one suite with ensuite bath and a separate suite over the garage at the rear of the property. We stayed in the standard room, and were surprised to learn on arrival that it had a "trundle bed", which pulls out to be 2 singles. When booking, I had asked about the bath, but didn't ask if it was ensuite. It turned out to be across the hall, right next to the owners' open bedroom door. The owners have three small dogs and three cats, which can be a problem if you have allergies, as the pets apparently have the run of the house. The owners are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not notable at our recent off-season visit. When we researched places to stay in Port Jefferson, the Ransome Inn B&B came up as affordable and now we know why. Still, I would prefer it to most motels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ransome Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ransome Inn B&B

Address: 409 East Broadway, Port Jefferson, NY 11777
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ransome Inn Circa 1868, this cedar-clapboard covered, side-gables house began as a simple Cape Cod with a central-front entry-way with windows placed symmetrically on either side. Over the years, a front porch was added as were dormers on both the front and back. Recently a two story addition on the west side of the house gave an extra room to each floor. Shutters on the six-over-six windows add to the Cape Cod effect.Join us at The Ransome Inn and make your stay in Port Jefferson a special one.Upon arriving at The Ransome Inn, you will be greeted by all the conveniences of your home and office while treating yourself to an abundance of indulgences waiting for you. The house has private and secure parking. Local taxis are available for those traveling without transportation. The Inn's charm and warmth make even business travel a bit more relaxing. Fresh flowers fill each room. The Ransome Inn is within walking distance of our historic downtown, which features a unique shopping experience and waterfront special events. While strolling through our business district, stop by our museum for an exhibit, take in a show at Theater Three, or visit our wonderful deep water harbor and docks to unwind. Both St. Charles and Mather hospitals are within walking distance Stony Brook Hospital and University is 10 minutes away and New York City and the Hampton s are only an hour away.Member of the Greater Port Jefferson Chamber of CommerceMember of the Empire Bed and Breakfast AssociationApproved and permitted by the Village of Port Jefferson ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ransome Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.