We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO ONE RESPONDED” 1 of 5 stars
Review of White House on High Street

White House on High Street
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House on High Street
Save
You added White House on High Street to your Saves list
651 High Street, Port Jefferson, NY 11777   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NO ONE RESPONDED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We tried for 3 days to contact this inn. We had to attend a family funeral and needed a place to stay. The telephone number rang, but had a message saying the number was not in service? We filled out the reservation request form twice, and never heard a thing.

Note to innkeepers: This is not customer service.

Room Tip: This inn needs to review their customer service policy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway Park, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Went for a quick getaway and the White House far exceeded our expectations. In room gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub for 2 plus stand up shower, super comfortable king bed. We stayed in the Eleanor Roosevelt room. It has a small balcony attached. Hosts Marylou and Pat were so welcoming. Breakfast was delish. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, chips, soda and water are always available. The basement has internet access and a pool table. There are dvds to choose from. Water and chocolates are inside the room, along with plentiful candles and super comfy robes. It's close by to Main Street where all shops and restaurants are. House decor is upscale and very comfortable. The outside gardens must be gorgeous in season, the pool and outdoor jacuzzi were covered but are quite large. There's also an outdoor grill. Well worth the price; I was so glad they could accomodate us at the last minute. Cash only btw.

Will definitely come back in season. This was an absolutely perfect stay. I can't say enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Summer 4 star, off-season would be 3 or 3.5 star. Suites are large with a bit of space in the public rooms and large backyard to enjoy as well. Decorating is a mix of contemporary, classic traditional, handpainted pieces, and older furnishings. Many cute books and videos available in room and just outside it too. Pool is very comfortable with a large bench seat in it, despite winds blowing in some leaves and flower debris on a regular basis. Not supposed to use outdoor whirlpool or pool after dark:( Breakfast is very nice, but weren't offered the option of having it in our room as described on the website. Also no hordourves upon arrival as advertised, however, packaged chips & snack, soda, water, iced tea, hot tea, and coffee always available (complimentary) with bottled water in the room. Thoughtful ammenities put in bathroom in case you need - individually wrapped toothbrushes, travel size toothpaste, spray deodorant, mouthwash. Candles around, but no matches, so need to ask or BYO. Whirlpool for 2 in suites, but jets are at hips,which doesn't quite make a whirlpool and is a little uncomfortable since it isn't at your back or feet which need the massage/pressure. Bedding is pretty, but not the most comfortable or quiet. It squeaks as you get in, roll over... which makes you self-conscious. Otherwise there is a sense of privacy as the suites are at opposite ends of the hallway with a small bedroom (not a suite) in between and no bedrooms underneath. Grounds are quite hilly and steep with a lot of steps, but filled with shrubs and trees which makes it very private and scenic. Outdoor furniture cushions are in need of a good cleaning. There are several clusters of sitting areas spread out over the yard for the guests (maximum of 6) to enjoy - 4 chaise lounges, several sets of chairs with a little table, some in the sun, some under an umbrella, 3 large tables for outdoor breakfasts, an oversized hammock which has a tendency to tilting, but still usable for drying off in the sun. Nice, if not perfect getaway.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

My husband and I love to stay in Bed and Breakfasts. We stayed for one night in February, in the middle of the week. The rooms are nice and breakfast is good, but overall the decor seemed a little tacky. I don't know what I was expecting, but a house in the middle of a neighborhood (that feels like it belongs to your great aunt) wasn't it. We were the only guests, and the hosts were very nice, but for the price I wouldn't return here. In Port Jeff we did stumble across some great fondue though!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

My husband and I were in desperate need of some "mommy and daddy time". Looking for a local getaway, we ran across The White House on High Street on the Internet. We were impressed with what we saw on their website so we booked a weekend in the Jackie Kennedy Suite.

Never having been to a B & B before, we did not know what to expect. Upon arriving, we were met by Pat, our host for the weekend. He was very friendly and gracious as he showed us around the property and answered all of our questions.

The house was spectacular! Very clean and well kept. Every attention to detail was paid and I immediately felt "at home". We were led up to our room and were very pleased with what we saw. The room was a lot bigger than it looked in the picture on the web site and it was stunning! The private bathroom with Jacuzzi left of breathless.

A delicious gourmet breakfast was served every morning, at the time of our choice, and always with a smile and kind word. Pat, and his lovely wife Mary Lou, always made us feel welcome. A delicious snack was also provided in the afternoon.

The backyard was beautifully landscaped and complete with pool, hot tub, patio and patio furniture. My husband and I are already planning our next trip for the summer so we can take advantage of the yard.

We were just a few short blocks away from downtown Port Jefferson. It was a nice walk through the town with all it's history and antique shops.

My husband and I both agree that this was our best weekend ever and we can't wait to go back. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone looking to getaway and relax.

Lori & George Gorman

  • Liked — All the little extra details.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

My husband and I wanted a short weekend getaway for our one year wedding anniversary so we began to look at bed and breakfasts within 30 miles of the North fork Vineyards and Wineries. From the moment we found The White House on High Street we knew there was something special about it. For around the same price as their competitors we decided to book. That turned out to be the best decision we have made since saying "I do." As we exited our car we immediately noticed the exquisite landscaping with bright, colorful flowers and lush greenery. Upon entering the home we were enamored with the beautiful furniture and décor. It was like being in a loved one’s home… and very wealthy loved one with impeccable taste that is! Marge and Phil immediately greeted us with smiles. Upon touring their home my husband and I knew that one weekend was simply not enough to enjoy all this B&B has to offer. From the backyard complete with a luxurious pool, a waterfall hot tub and quaint little nooks filled with flowers and butterflies to the little snack station stocked full with a variety of beverages and snacks, there was no detail left undone. Staying in the Jackie Kennedy suite, we were able to enjoy a cozy fireplace, a comfy king size bed with soft linens, a large jetted bathtub fit for two under and lovely skylight, a walk-in closet and gorgeous décor and furniture. In the mornings our room filled with the smells of what was to be a delicious breakfast! Marge, with her collection of over 40 plate sets, decorated our place settings with adorable little touches out on their lovely patio area. From Tuscan muffins, crispy bacon, custom omelets and my favorite zucchini bread, we ate like royalty. My husband and I could not have hoped for a better experience for our one year anniversary, everything was absolutely perfect! We highly recommend The White House on High Street for your next getaway!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

My fiancee and I stayed in the White House B&B for a quick weekday getaway. It was terrific. We stayed in the Jackie Kennedy room which we highly recommend. The room has a fireplace (although it is a gas one), king size bed, TV w/ DVD/VCR (the B&B has its own DVD collection available to guests). The attached bathroom is nearly as big as the room and has a large jacuzzi that easily fits 2 people and a separate shower w/ 2 heads and wall jets. The service was wonderful. Marge and Phil run the B&B as well as live in it and make sure that they are always available whether in person or by cell phone. They really welcome you into their home and make the effort to make sure your stay is perfect. Marge provides afternoon h'ors d'oevres as well as breakfast. They have a large pool and separate hot-tub in the backyard as well as a hammock and outdoor grill bar. The basement is also made available to guests and contains a pool table, some exercise equipments, a 50 inch flat screen tv and internet access. This was definitely a great place to relax in luxury.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Jefferson
0.8 mi away
Danfords Hotel & Marina
Danfords Hotel & Marina
#1 of 3 in Port Jefferson
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
4.9 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Residence Inn Holtsville
Residence Inn Holtsville
#1 of 2 in Holtsville
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
10.6 mi away
Marriott Islandia Long Island
12.6 mi away
The Inn And Spa At East Wind
The Inn And Spa At East Wind
#1 of 2 in Wading River
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House on High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House on High Street

Address: 651 High Street, Port Jefferson, NY 11777
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Jefferson
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House on High Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.