We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
201 Liberty Avenue, Port Jefferson, NY 11777   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Cod, MA
1 review
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed one night here and we wished we could have stayed longer. The grounds were much appreciated coming from a landscaper and gardener - it had a secret garden kind of ambiance to it with lots of outdoor seating. Inside was very cozy - the common room with a large fresh water fish tank, fire place, musical instruments and antiques. It was nice waking up to (and going to sleep to) classical music and the smells of delicious organic cooking. We stayed in the Bunny room, very cute with a large, clean bathroom. The cars in the driveway didn't bother us, they're just cars and weren't capable of affecting our lovely stay. Tom and Jennifer were very gracious and their son adorable. We're a young couple and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Staying at the Golden Pineapple is less like staying at a bed and breakfast and more like staying in a spare bedroom. The property and house are not well-kept. The weekend of our unfortunate visit, the upstairs TV room had been converted into another bedroom with a pull-out bed! The downstairs living room is cluttered with toys, the owners' computer and workspace, and other household items. We could not even relax on the back patio or in the garden, because the owners hosted a wedding reception during our stay that encompassed the entire first floor and all of the grounds! This would be fine, if any of the B&B guests were also guests at the wedding reception -- but none of us were! We attempted to sleep in one morning (as is the point of most B&Bs), but we were awoken early by the sound of all the other guests, as the acoustics in the house proved to be terrible. The organic breakfast was so disappointing that we skipped it the second morning. The "sweet and savories" available at all hours for guests consisted of an old bottle of Creme de Menthe and a basket of stale candies. Needless to say, if you are going to spend $185 a night, your money will be much better spent elsewhere!"

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east setauket, ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Although we only live ten minutes away, my husband and I had a wonderful and romantic night away from home. We loved walking down PJ, eating dinner and having some drinks and walking back . We had a great night sleep - the beds were very comfortable. We had Tom's homemade PC the next day and they were delicious - so much so that we are going back to buy some to make at home for our kids.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

My husband and I wanted to spend only one night in a B&B on Long Island, and the Golden Pineapple was happy to accomodate. Most B&B's require a 2 night stay; initially we were placed on a waiting list, then we were confirmed a week before to stay in the Bunny room. The Bunny room was beautifully decorated and very clean with a bathroom outside the room which was also clean. It is a little inconvenient to go outside the room for the bathroom but it didn't bother us too much. The Queen bed was firm and comfortable. The common room had a tv, some cookies as well as menus for local restaurants. Jennifer made some great suggestions for dinner, and the B&B is conveniently located to the downtown area, about a 15 minute walk which is great since parking in Port Jeff is a bit of a nightmare. Breakfast was served outside on the deck by Tom and consisted of fresh fruit and homemade pancakes, delish!
We agree with the other reviews about the 'antique' cars parked in the parking area. They take away from the beauty of the property. Overall, very clean lodging, friendly accomodating hosts. We would definitely stay again! Maybe next time take advantage of some of the massage services offered by the owner if we have more time.

  • Liked — One night stay availability, convenience to downtown
  • Disliked — Bathroom external to the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nywea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

The Golden Pineapple met our need for a stay close to Port Jefferson Harbor. It was a delight to have an organic breakfast and great conversation. A surprise treasure at this antique decorated B & B is Tom and Jennifer's son Garrett -- so very well behaved , happy and bright. Family values shine at the Golden Pineapple.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

A beautiful historic house furnished with antiques run by lovely people. They went out of their way to accomodate my dietary restrictions (gluten free) with excellent food. The location is walking distance to Port Jeff and has easy access from the ferry.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night while looking at properties to relocate to the area for work. Our stay was just okay. Breakfast was excellent and the outdoor patio was beautiful. We also appreciated that all food was organic. Unlike the other review we didn't find the inn dirty but the car collection did block access to most of the driveway and - while completely reasonable for a private residence - definitely detracted from the charm of the rest of the property. We checked in later in the day to the "bunny room" and were the only guests for the duration of our short stay. We were pleased with the room. However, it was on the small side, the bathroom was external to the room, and we were somewhat surprised that given the later hour and the lack of other guests we weren't upgraded to the large room with an internal bath. The "many evening cordials and sweets" advertised on the website were also poorly stocked on the night we stayed. Overall our stay was fine (and prices are comparable given the area) but we found the added hospitality of the little extras we enjoy so much about B & Bs was somewhat lacking.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besttosimplify, Owner at Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2008
We appreciate our guests’ reviews and try to incorporate their suggestions and respond to their concerns. We apologize for not having met the expectation of some guests. It is very important to us that our guests have a positive and memorial stay. The antique car collection at times takes up space in the parking lot. However, we always make sure there is space for our guests to park. In regards to upgrades; we frequently offer a room upgrade to our guests whenever possible. There are times when the rooms are not available due to maintenance, repair, or late cancellations. The Bunny room despite the bathroom being external is one of our most requested rooms. Therefore, if a guest asked for the Bunny room or if we thought the guests had asked specifically for a certain room, we may not have inquired if they would like an upgrade. Evening sweets and cordials are always available in the sitting room. However, we do not display fresh baked goods if guests inform us that they will be arriving late or if they will be out all night and only return to sleep. We thank you for your stay and sharing your honest opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 Liberty Avenue, Port Jefferson, NY 11777
Location: United States > New York > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the elegance and grace of the 1900's at The Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast. The Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast is an enchanting Victorian home located in historic Port Jefferson, New York. Steps away, the quaint harbor-side village of Port Jefferson, beckon visitors with a vast array of unique shops, restaurants to suit any palate and a plethora of interesting historical and recreational activities throughout the year. We are less than 1 mile from the Long Island rail road and the ferry. The University of Stony Brook is approximate 5 miles from us. The vineyards are 30 minutes away. Further pamper yourself with on-site acupuncture and massage therapy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.