We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely one night stay at the Golden Pinapple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
201 Liberty Avenue, Port Jefferson, NY 11777   |  
Hotel amenities
Rockaway Park, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely one night stay at the Golden Pinapple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

My husband and I wanted to spend only one night in a B&B on Long Island, and the Golden Pineapple was happy to accomodate. Most B&B's require a 2 night stay; initially we were placed on a waiting list, then we were confirmed a week before to stay in the Bunny room. The Bunny room was beautifully decorated and very clean with a bathroom outside the room which was also clean. It is a little inconvenient to go outside the room for the bathroom but it didn't bother us too much. The Queen bed was firm and comfortable. The common room had a tv, some cookies as well as menus for local restaurants. Jennifer made some great suggestions for dinner, and the B&B is conveniently located to the downtown area, about a 15 minute walk which is great since parking in Port Jeff is a bit of a nightmare. Breakfast was served outside on the deck by Tom and consisted of fresh fruit and homemade pancakes, delish!
We agree with the other reviews about the 'antique' cars parked in the parking area. They take away from the beauty of the property. Overall, very clean lodging, friendly accomodating hosts. We would definitely stay again! Maybe next time take advantage of some of the massage services offered by the owner if we have more time.

  • Liked — One night stay availability, convenience to downtown
  • Disliked — Bathroom external to the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nywea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

The Golden Pineapple met our need for a stay close to Port Jefferson Harbor. It was a delight to have an organic breakfast and great conversation. A surprise treasure at this antique decorated B & B is Tom and Jennifer's son Garrett -- so very well behaved , happy and bright. Family values shine at the Golden Pineapple.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

A beautiful historic house furnished with antiques run by lovely people. They went out of their way to accomodate my dietary restrictions (gluten free) with excellent food. The location is walking distance to Port Jeff and has easy access from the ferry.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night while looking at properties to relocate to the area for work. Our stay was just okay. Breakfast was excellent and the outdoor patio was beautiful. We also appreciated that all food was organic. Unlike the other review we didn't find the inn dirty but the car collection did block access to most of the driveway and - while completely reasonable for a private residence - definitely detracted from the charm of the rest of the property. We checked in later in the day to the "bunny room" and were the only guests for the duration of our short stay. We were pleased with the room. However, it was on the small side, the bathroom was external to the room, and we were somewhat surprised that given the later hour and the lack of other guests we weren't upgraded to the large room with an internal bath. The "many evening cordials and sweets" advertised on the website were also poorly stocked on the night we stayed. Overall our stay was fine (and prices are comparable given the area) but we found the added hospitality of the little extras we enjoy so much about B & Bs was somewhat lacking.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besttosimplify, Owner at Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2008
We appreciate our guests’ reviews and try to incorporate their suggestions and respond to their concerns. We apologize for not having met the expectation of some guests. It is very important to us that our guests have a positive and memorial stay. The antique car collection at times takes up space in the parking lot. However, we always make sure there is space for our guests to park. In regards to upgrades; we frequently offer a room upgrade to our guests whenever possible. There are times when the rooms are not available due to maintenance, repair, or late cancellations. The Bunny room despite the bathroom being external is one of our most requested rooms. Therefore, if a guest asked for the Bunny room or if we thought the guests had asked specifically for a certain room, we may not have inquired if they would like an upgrade. Evening sweets and cordials are always available in the sitting room. However, we do not display fresh baked goods if guests inform us that they will be arriving late or if they will be out all night and only return to sleep. We thank you for your stay and sharing your honest opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

We booked 2 bedrooms on line several months before as we were looking for a clean comfortable 2 night stay in Port Jefferson, Long Island. As we drove up we were astonished to find the gardens strewn with derelict cars and a boat as we tried manoeuvring our car in the driveway. We were immediately asked to pay the full charges up front before seeing the rooms. The house is full of clutter and could have done with being cleaned. The owners are very into 'organic products' but could well do with focusing on cleanliness and dusting as a matter of priority. At $180 dollars a night, this is not cheap by any standards and in our opinion, is grossly overpriced. I would not recommend The Golden Pineapple if cleanliness is an issue for any travellers.

  • Liked — Leaving it!
  • Disliked — Unkempt, dirty, overpriced
  • Tips/Secrets — Please avoid - you must find better in the area
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besttosimplify, Owner at Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 25, 2008
We make great effort to satisfy our guests and keep our Bed and Breakfast clean and healthy. We take our guests reviews seriously and have since made many changes. Some of them are increasing the hours of our cleaning staff, removing some antique cars from the parking lot, and moving the boat off the property. The boat was in the parking area only temporarily as a favor to our family friend who was in the process of moving his residence. Despite having parking spaces reserved for guests, we apologize to all who were inconvenienced from that temporary arrangement. We cordially ask all our guests to pay the balance at arrival which is a customary procedure followed by most Bed and Breakfasts. Guests who prefer to see the room first or wait until they are settled down before paying are unconditionally accommodated upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 Liberty Avenue, Port Jefferson, NY 11777
Location: United States > New York > Port Jefferson
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Jefferson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into the elegance and grace of the 1900's at The Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast. The Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast is an enchanting Victorian home located in historic Port Jefferson, New York. Steps away, the quaint harbor-side village of Port Jefferson, beckon visitors with a vast array of unique shops, restaurants to suit any palate and a plethora of interesting historical and recreational activities throughout the year. We are less than 1 mile from the Long Island rail road and the ferry. The University of Stony Brook is approximate 5 miles from us. The vineyards are 30 minutes away. Further pamper yourself with on-site acupuncture and massage therapy. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pineapple Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.