We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Restaurant in Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pepper

The Pepper
13 City Hall Place, Ste 1, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-4933 (Formerly The Smoked Pepper)
518-566-4688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 115 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
1 review
“My Favorite Restaurant in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I love this restaurant, I have been here many times and I've never been disappointed. The food is always fantastic and the margaritas are always good too! I've tried many things on the menu but the fish tacos are my favorite, I wasn't sure about fish tacos before I tried them, no I love them! Don't forget to look at the specials board, they're always doing something creative at the Pepper. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    7
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
“One of the worst dinning out experiences I've ever had!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I had stopped in here on a thursday to get a bite to eat, this was our second visit to the pepper and our first experience had been good so we figured we would try it again. It was horrible! It was earlier in the day so it wasn't busy, there was three to four tables of people while we were there. We were seated right away and our waitress immediately came over and took our drink order. Two minutes later when she came back with our drinks she asked if we were ready to order I wasn't so we asked for a couple more minutes. When I had decide we folded our menus and set them away from us to signal we were ready, after 10 minutes of waiting I had to wave to our waitress to get her attention. Our food did come out in a timely manner and it was alright the portions were good for the price. As we ate our waitress never once checked in on us not even to ask if everything was good or to see if we needed refills on our drinks even though she walked by our table several times.
Once we were done eating it took another 10 minutes to flag down our waitress to get a to go box and our check. During that time another member of the staff, I don't know if she was the owner or just an older hostess came over and ask how everything was, I responded "good but......" at that point she literal cut me off and said great and preceded to walk over to the table next to us. Once we finally got our waitress's attention she brought us a to go box and the check quickly, which completely shocked me, but when we wanted to be rung out ( we were paying with a card) our waitress was no where to be found. At this point I felt like she was actively trying to avoid us and we both were so frustrated with the experience we just wanted to leave so after waiting a little over 5 minutes trying to get her attention my boyfriend went up to the bar to see if we could just there. The bartender, an older man, was incredibly nice (the only helpful friendly employee we encountered during our visit to the pepper) found our waitress so we finally could be cashed out. When we left no one even say goodbye our have a nice day.
Needless to say we will not be returning to the pepper.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The nacho grande I got was good and so was the salsa. The service was ok...it really could have been better..i almost felt like I was bothering the bar tender that day..she seemed more interested in talking to her friends than asking me if I wanted a drink refill. Would go back for salsa and chips.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bland food and bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I have tried this place a few times. Every time I go in it is always packed so someone is doing something right. I think it might be the great drink specials. I did finally find something with flavor. The tortilla soup, I have tried different things but they are so bland, I literally had to spit it out. My homemade salsa is 100 times better than theirs. Whenever someone recommends this place for a family get together, I decline. I will not be going there again.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plattsburgh, ny
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“If you can't stand the noise,wait for an outside table!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The problem with that is that no one wants to give up an outside table once they have it they tend to stay. This wasnt our first trip to the Pepper but we sat inside despite the noise anyway because we really wanted to eat. Service started slow but the waitress did apologize and things improved although we did wait quite a while for the kitchen to put out our meal. It doesn't seem so bad after a couple of very good drink specials. After we ate, we commented to the waitress that we wished we could have sat outside. She came back later and said that some people were leaving and she would get us the table if we intended to stay. So we did, had more drinks and dessert and sat outside under the stars. Food is good but a little expenive for what you get. 2 enchiladas,a scoop of beans and a small serving of rice equals 17.$ Only really bad thing is the inside noise.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pepper also viewed

 

Been to The Pepper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pepper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.