We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undoubtedly the best in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro

Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro
538 State Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6526
518-561-6420
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 117 restaurants in Plattsburgh
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Indiana, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly the best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is our second visit to Plattsburgh. We've heard of Anthony's but didn't try it last time. What can I say....the food is excellent albeit pricey. Fresh & local seem to be the keywords for this place. House smoked salmon, homemade sausage -- need I say more??

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    94
    36
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hard to choose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Every time I dine here I struggle with what to choose for an appetizer, since there are several that are drop dead delicious. Namely the the Lobster bisque and the grilled squid.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Plattsburgh's Finest Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Always new and interesting chef specialties. Truly the finest dining Plattsburgh has to offer! Dine in elegance or more casually in the bistor, either way the food is great and the service outstanding!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not even a shadow of what it used to be.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Used to dine at Anthony's weekly as it was consistently excellent, albeit pricey but worth it. Moved from the area for about 10 years and returned last year. Ate at Anthony's expecting the usual excellent fare, but was seriously disappointed at the quality. The entire meal was sub par and ranged from overcooked meat to tasteless sauces. It was the first time I had ever had anything less than an excellent meal at Anthony's. I assumed it had to be a rare off night. I returned the following week and again received a sub par meal about the same quality as before. Upon asking around, apparantly there had been a change in chefs since I had last dined there. Whatever the reason, Anthony's food is nothing like it used to be. It used to be the best in Plattsburgh. Now I won't even eat there anymore, including the bistro which was always a great lunch value. As it stands, the quality of the food does not even remotely justify the price ... incredibly overpriced. Sadly, I won't be back. It appears a Plattsburgh staple is no longer what it was.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience in Dinning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The ambiance and over all experience once entering set the stage, followed with excellent presentation of the fair and a great selections.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's Restaurant & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.