We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butcher Block Restaurant

Butcher Block Restaurant
15 Booth Drive, Plattsburgh, NY 12901
+1 518-563-0920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 117 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Butcher Block restaurant in Plattsburgh, NY is family owned and specializes in steak and seafood, but offers a wide variety of delicious options.
Champlain, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Used to have the best Prime Rib in Town... But now - it has the best wallet gouger in Town. 99 down the street is great and so is the Texas Roadhouse.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creoteam, Marketing Director at Butcher Block Restaurant, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on serving the best quality prime rib available. We offer three different cuts of prime rib and all include our unlimited soup, salad and bread bar. The majority of our customers view this as an exceptional value. We hope you will continue to patronize the Butcher Block.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    116
    53
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not great, but satisfactory and convenient.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Prices are a little high, but really, I didn't expect much when travelling so far upstate. The salad bar was fresh, and frankly, important for the two of us travelling together with such different dietary needs. The soup of the day was Philly Cheesesteak - yes, I said "soup" - and was ok, nothing special. The inclusion of a low-cal dressing on the salad bar would be a plus. My filet and potato were tasty ... the shallot butter is really nice on the steaks ... but the filet was undercooked just a little. A bit too "squishy" for my taste. My companion had a rib-eye, I think, and enjoyed it. His was cooked better than mine. Green beans were an odd mix of freshly cooked and bright green, along with some that looked like they were cooked last week, and drab. I wouldn't say stay away, but manage your expectations!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creoteam, marketing director at Butcher Block Restaurant, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. We continue to strive to meet our customer's expectations. We hope you will choose to visit the Butcher Block again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Menu has expanded some, but could use more seafood on the menu. The food has improved and the service is very good. The prices are a bit too high for the area, but you will not be disappointed in the atmosphere, service, and food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimouski, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Excellent seafood & ribs. Staff friendly. Prices reasonable. Walking distance from our hotel. Will eat there again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and atmosphere over the years.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Many years ago while in school at SUNY Plattsburgh, we would go their Friday afternoon for Happy Hour and dinner. Over the years, I have visited Plattsburgh to see friends and relatives and go to Butcher Block often. It is consistently amazing. The salad bar is great, the steak is amazing. You can't miss with this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher Block Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Butcher Block Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butcher Block Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.