We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's with the coffee???” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly's

Friendly's
81 Centre Dr, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6553
(518) 563-6396
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 117 Restaurants in Plattsburgh
Restaurant details
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“What's with the coffee???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Breakfast this morning was very good- One of those weekday- specially priced, huge ones...We were very pleased:
Until we got the bill. Coffee @2.58 each or thereabouts EXTRA!
It was 9am, so not outside the breakfast hours. When we walked in, they asked if we wanted coffee. They did not say that it was extra.
This is getting to be a ruse.
I don't like that. The breakfast for 2 with home fries and coffees + tip came to $20. That's not "special" at all.
The server was very nice. The food was good, but I guess I will never accept an add-on.
and PS: The coffee was not as good quality as Panera or Wendy's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    22
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Bad, cold service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Highly overrated, not at all impressed with the breakfast, it could be so much better, it seems it used to be better... or maybe for lunch or dinner.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
“Good Food, Great Prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Title says it all, when travelling with family. Friendly's is always a great choice! If the kids are Happy, than Mommy and Daddy enjoy the meal that much more!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, quebec
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't beat the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A complete meal including dessert for $9.99. What else do you need? If you would like a chance to detroy your body try the BBQ Honey Supermelt wih loaded waffle fries. 1900 calories, 125 grams of fat, 4000 mg of sodium and it is fantastic!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
“No more discounts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Have been going here for years and now some overall changes with respects to discounts...they aren't giving them now... Why? Because they are in financial trouble and can't afford to give them any more. So they lost our business and we are going elsewhere to use our "Military", "AAA", etc. discounts!

If they are in trouble they should be "promoting ways to keep lifelong customers!" We keep them going through the bad times too.

One other issue: Coupons... yes they will honor them IF you get them in your e-mail and IF not they don't believe you that you didn't. And for those of us who have NO printer we just loose out! Why not give us a CODE to write down and use like other restaurants in town.

Note: The food is still good, while we were going up through Sept then the coffee came out luke warm and the service was slow.... Overall moral in the "team" of servers there is BAD...they didn't like telling us about not being able to no longer use our discounts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly's also viewed

 

Been to Friendly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.