We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true sampling of Lake Champlain.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Au Roches State Park

Point Au Roches State Park
19 Camp Red Cloud Road, Plattsburgh, NY
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A true sampling of Lake Champlain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Point Au Roche State Park is a family favorite for us. We often moor there while boating because the swimming and beachfront is incredible. Additionally, we love to ride bikes and head out for a run on their many trails. If you live in the area, you should definitely pack a picnic lunch and have a blast at Point Au Roche. The bathrooms are seasonal and they haven't had the snack bar open for several years, but there are still lifeguards on duty for the summer months and plenty of picnic tables and grassy areas to relax on. Doggies welcome too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I walk the trails several times a week in the morning. Most of the time, I am alone on the trails, on the edge of beautiful Lake Champlain. I love the feeling of having the entire park to myself.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Plattsburg adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I love the outdoors and this was a beautiful park. It's close by and worth the few miles to get there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“nice trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This park had several trails that were great for a baby stroller. There were mosquitoes so you might want to bring repellent:)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trails and scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

we enjoyed the wintery scenery and choice of trails. The view of Lake Champlain was nice. not really anything to dislike.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Au Roches State Park also viewed

 

Been to Point Au Roches State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Au Roches State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.