We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6520   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Plattsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Clean (mostly) and tidy, great location to stopover on long trips. Light breakfast supplied. Recommend staying here in the off-season, as whilst Lake George is lovely, most places are closed come October...and definitely a nicer locale that Glens Falls!

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    48
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
84
23
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a nice property with lots of great features for kids and centrally located to shopping and dining in Plattsburgh. However there is a lot of room for improvement.

PROS:

-Clean lobby
-Free mini water park
-Good selection of foods at free breakfast
-Good location with lots of parking
-Strong wifi signal

CONS:

-Arcade located in the hotel is not free, nor do you receive any tokens as a guest of the hotel. This would have been a nice touch.

-The hotel is very much like a maze. There are hallways and doors and more hallways and then more doors. It makes a simple trip up the the 2nd floor very tiring.

-The front desk staff that I dealt with seemed indifferent. I asked about booking a bigger room for our next visit and was told there were no bigger rooms. I also informed them that the bed was very uncomfortable and the agent just said "I'll make a note of it." I just did not get the feeling that I was a valued customer. And as a Gold member of Choice rewards, I expected more.

-Upon arrival, my door lock did not work. I had to walk back through all of the previously mentioned hallways and doors to find someone at front desk to help me. They sent maintenance a few minutes later. He spent 25 minutes at our room recharging the battery in the lock because he didn't have a spare lock to replace it with. We struggled with getting into our room for the entire weekend - very unpleasant.

- The room was very small. We booked a king suite, which was a king bed with a half wall divider and a pull out couch on the other side. It was super cramped. I have been in regular double rooms that are twice the size of this so called suite. The room was dated. The paint on the bathroom vanity was peeling. The bedding was AWFUL. I am not a picky person in general but this was the worst bed I ever slept on. It creaked like crazy every time we moved, which was disturbing to everyone. The bedding was very rough and caught on everything.


I am a loyal Choice Hotel customer but I find that this Comfort Suites does not live up to the standards I have seen at other properties (Burlington, VT, Lake George, NY, Orlando FL, etc.)

It's a great weekend getaway destination for families with little kids, but the rooms are too small for families and they need updating.

Room Tip: I had a King Suite and it was very cramped for 2 adults and a toddler. I was told this was one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent the long week-end at the Comfort Inn in Plattsburg, such a convenient location, nice little walk to the 24 hr wallmart, TJ maxx, bed bath and beyond, the Champlain mall..... The hotel itself is quite spacious, charming, clean and well kept and accept pets for a fair fee (not very common these days). They do have a waterpark and game room for kids but it could definitely use a pool and jacuzzi area for adults. The hotel staffs are so polite and welcoming..definitely going back there. Nice getaway!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MISTISSINI, QUEBEC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a great place to unwind after driving and shopping.

Rooms nice clean new. The hallways are a zig zag and to get to our room with luggage I had to pass through 8 doors and go all over the place. was easier making 4 trips to the car the next morning.

Nice little micro brewery pub Legionnaires.

Right off the 87 so close to highway

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The suite was very spacious and had hot tub.
Very comfortable for a family
Fitness center was one of the best for this priced hotel
No swimming pool for adults water park with slide for small children.
Nice location

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Staff were courteous and very helpful. Clean, large rooms. Best fitness center I have ever come across in a hotel. Did not use pool but plenty of play areas and water attractions if you have kids. They only complaint I would have is that it smelled, at times, like cigarettes in the hallway although I had requested non smoking. Overall, I'd stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Had combined this trip as shopping and sight seeing so location was perfect. I stayed here because i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergennes, VT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights (because we had heard they had a great water-park area for small children). We were quite pleased with the waterpark. Unfortunately, the deepest park of the pool is 3 feet deep, so no adult swimming area. My daughter had a wonderful time in the waterpark and enjoyed the game room downstairs. The room was clean and was good size for a family of three. The front desk staff was attentive and accomodating. The restaurant attached to the hotel was EXCELLENT. We ate there for lunch and dinner both days and really enjoyed it. Great baked goods! We did not eat breakfast at the hotel because it did not look appetizing. Hot breakfast was a joke. We are Choice hotel members and will be back!

Room Tip: Make sure if you are traveling with small children to request a pack-n-play when you make a reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 411 Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901-6520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plattsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property reopened Nov 4 2010. The hotel with a mini spray park and two water slides, Perkins Restuarant, Ledgends Wine and Brew Pub, and Eclipse Spa are all open for business. Champy Family Fun Center and 9 hole indoor glow in the dark mini putt will be open in Sept. 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Plattsburgh
Comfort Inn Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.