We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unconventional layout, good service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Plainview Long Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Plainview Long Island to your Saves list
Residence Inn Plainview Long Island
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Gerhard Road, Plainview, NY 11803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Unconventional layout, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night at this property on a short getaway. This property is in a residential neighborhood near a hospital (only heard one ambulance during my stay). Front desk staff were knowledgeable and friendly. They provided printed directions to local shops and attractions, including nearby movie theatres. They also checked us in and out efficiently. The parking lot near the entrance is small and spaces are tight. There is an underground garage that was well-lit and seemed safe. There is also another surface lot down the street a short distance (room key required to enter). As typical of ResInn, huge breakfast area with a large buffet of numerous items. No need to leave the property for breakfast. Exercise room was awesome. Treadmills, ellipticals, weights, and even a sauna. Rooms were clean and bathrooms had tub/shower units with glass doors. Overall, good stay in a safe area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
41
18
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed here for 1 week on business. Had a great suite, king bed 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen. I never used the kitchen because they provide a full breakfast each morning, and then a full Dinner each evening with beer and wine. I think its a great value, everyone is so friendly and the rooms are big bright and clean! The Lobby and pool area are large and updated. This is one of the nicest Residence Inns I've been in. Definately the best value by far with the meals included. When staying in Bethpage area of Long Island this will be a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I spent the weekend with my family in mid-July. If this had been a rare stay at a Marriott, I would never return to one. Fortunately for the Marriott chain, we stay frequently and know this horrible experience was due to a very poor staff and not the chain.

I asked for two rooms close together on a top floor and ended up with two rooms far apart on the first floor, one of which was right next to the front desk and front door. The pools (one lap pool and one outdoor) were supposed to be open but the lifeguards kept leaving and closing the pools (lifeguards are required). The refrigerator in one room was so loud it kept waking us up and the air conditioning in the other had the same effect. The topper: I found hair in my eggs at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel JUNE-OCTOBER 2011 my company made this reservation . The staff is friendly and attentive. The hotel is a bit older and was not originally a hotel. The lobby décor is out dated and needs to be updated. The pool area is better than most residence inn pools with plenty of seating and lounge chairs. The complementary food is nothing to write home about. The parking is free but not enough on the property so most times we had to park across the street in a hotel owned lot. The oddest thing is the fake predator bird machine that plays throughout the day to help keep birds from inside the covered walkway. We did not eat at the restaurant because of the prices but did eat at the bar while watching football. There is a nice (Sometimes Themed) BBQ in the pool area one day a week in the summer.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the fake bird machine, ask for a room NOT on the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night after celebrating our grandson's 1st birthday. When I arrived at check in, I mentioned to the front desk that I had a busy day and I was extremely tired so she upgraded our room to a lovely large suite right off the elevator. I was worried because it was over the front entrance but I did not have any noise complaints. My husband needed to get something out of the car and while on the elevator, dropped the car keys down the elevator shaft. The front desk and maintenance went to work immediately. Unfortunately they were unable to retrieve the keys that night, but they placed a service call to the elevator company. The keys arrived unmanaged via mail today. Nice hotel with full kitchen amenities. Nice breakfast area with a view of the outdoor pool.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I'm actually still at this hotel, but I have to write some of this as I haven't experienced service like this before. When we arrived the front office staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Thank them for that. We got to our room, which slightly smelled like smoke, but not enough to make me complain. However, the room next to us started to have a party that night. For a while we didn't complain, but then people were singing and making a huge amount of noise. I called the front desk who was very polite and said they would call. I heard the phone ring, but not even a level of quieting down took place. So I called about 30 minutes later. Front office was very nice again and said he would go to the room. I heard the doorbell ring, but within a minute the noise was back. I called again and told him that they should get a manager and kick people out of the room. He said no manager was available, but they could move my room. So we moved rooms (the only one available was directly above the party room, but much quieter. I was amazed that rather than kick out people who probably infrequently stay at hotels, they would rather move a traveler who frequents Marriot brands!

Next item was trying to get cleaning service for the room. We asked the first day if the cleaning staff could come back in an hour after we left. We came back and nothing was cleaned. Not a big deal. Second day we made sure to ask them to clean the room since we were leaving. Came back and no cleaning. So I called and they said a supervisor was right on it. An hour later, no cleaning. Called again and finally the cleaning staff came.

Overall the hotel is generally in good shape, front office staff nice, but I overheard multiple similar complaints about actually getting things done.

Room Tip: Certain rooms can be a very far walk. Important to ask if you have a person with limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Good -- convenient location and freeway access, clean housekeeping, friendly staff, good amenities (pool, exercise room, business center), decent Monday-Thursday dinners and daily breakfasts (but just standard food, nothing to write home about).

Bad -- located next to a fire station (wailing sirens at all hours of the day/night can wake the dead), extremely noisy heat/ac unit, absolutely horrendous satellite TV (loses signal every few minutes, cannot watch a show without numerous interruptions), equally horrendous wi-fi signal (weak, cuts out constantly).

Overall, this place might be OK for one or two nights' stay, but for long term (e.g. 1+ months), all the "bad" and annoying things really add up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Plainview Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Plainview Long Island

Address: 9 Gerhard Road, Plainview, NY 11803
Location: United States > New York > Plainview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Plainview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Plainview Long Island 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Plainview Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Plainview Long Island Hotel Plainview
Plainview Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Plainview Long Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.