We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners. Service declined significantly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hunan Cottage
135 Central Park Rd, Plainview, NY 11803-2035
516-349-0390
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 74 Restaurants in Plainview
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
LI, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“New owners. Service declined significantly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Went to this restaurant for 15 years with the original owners.
Went on a crowded night, and new owners were totally unprepared.
They have young kids running the whole place, with no experience at all.

Waited long for a table.
Then waited long for our waiter.
Then waited very very long for our food.
Then sent multiple dishes back that were not the correct order.
Then waited very long to replace those dishes.

Food is still good, but the service is so bad, I simply will not eat there again.
Not just my family, others complained and walked out mumbling about "worst service
they ever received". At one point I looked around and realized that only one table
in the back half of the restaurant actually had food, all others were sitting and waiting
for their food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good value, family style restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Four of us went to the Hunan Cottage for dinner. We ordered 3 mains: one steak based dish, one lemon chicken and one eggplant. There was enough for the four of us. The service was friendly and the food tasty. (I also had the hot and sour soup, which was quite good.)
This is not a gourmet establishment, but a good neighborhood, family restaurant located off the beaten part in a small strip mall in a residential neighborhood..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New Owners- Still good local Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stopped in to our 'regular' go-to chinese restaurant to pick up dinner for 9 of us. We have been going here for years- both dine-in & take out.
Never saw the girl (young lady) behind the counter- asked whre previous owner was- she replied, they retired. She said the chef was the same & she would still take good care of us.
I ordered, came back in 10 mins. and all our food was ready.
Great lunch specials, yummy hot chinese food.
The only change I noticed was our bill was now actually from a touch screen computer where I could read it instead of deciphering the handwritten chinese.
I really liked the printed recept whre I could confirm what was ordered.
Will definately continue going back until things change. Hope they don't!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can you put up with awful service and the occasional messe up order for amazing food?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I think my title says it all. They have an extensive vegetarian menu too. The wait can be really bad at times. Try the scallion pancakes, they are out of this world

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Many years of good chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Have gone to this restaurant litteraly hundreds of times, both dine in and take out.
Great food, good selection of classic Chinese dishes, but also a full vegetarian menu,
which was important to some in my family.

Friendly mom and pop owned establishment, owners usually onsite running the business.
Can get very busy some nights but rarely a long wait.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Cottage also viewed

 
Plainview, NY
 

Been to Hunan Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunan Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.