We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mario's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mario's Restaurant
635 Old Country Rd, Plainview, NY 11803-4908
516-935-8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 76 Restaurants in Plainview
Restaurant details
Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

A group of us ordered from here on a recent Friday night. Delivery time was 30 mins, which is acceptable for a busy Friday evening.

We ordered a variety of pizza/pasta dishes and all arrived as ordered, very hot and very good.

On Long Island, we have many choices for pizza/italian food, and really the menus are very similar at all of these places. I do have to say, that although the menu is comporable, this place stands out for quality & consistency.

I ordered the pasta primavera, which came with lots of fresh veggies & just the right amount of sauce to accompany the whole wheat penne.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Peter, what have you done?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This past Saturday my wife and I were joined by my son, his wife and their children at Marios. We all enjoy their food as well as their friendly service. A nice place to have dinner.
I ordered the Lasagna my wife ordered the veal cutlet with pasta bolonaise, my son ordered the veal with pasta garlic and oil. I won't go on because no one was happy with their food. For the first time. My lasagna was over done and dry. I asked for additional sauce but that didn't help. There was no taste. My son's veal was identical to that veal my wife received, small squares of veal as if they were cut from left over pieces from another meal. I know that would never happen but in the past when we ordered veal we received a good portion and it was a real deal veal cutlet. His garlic was burned and I do mean burned. He brought that to the atention of our server and he took it back to the kitchen. Our server returned with a replacement in about 10 minutes and my son said "I think the cook made new pasta, fried new garlic and used the same oil" because the second order was not much better than the first. My wife' s veal, as mentioned was not good and her pasta bolonaise was so lacking in sauce that I complained that our entire meal was far less than expected. Our grandchildren had pizza. Maybe the regular cook was off. We have been Mario's customers for a very long time and I guess there comes a time when everything goes wrong so we'll take a deep breath and try again. If things are as bad as this the next time I will assume Peter has made lasting changes and we will need to find a new Italian restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mario's simply Marvelous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Service was quick and attentive especially since was on a Friday night. Decor was very nice and best was the food. They serve you fresh Italian bread and garlic knots which were excellent. We ordered a pie with 1 topping to share and couldn't have enjoyed it more, well done with fresh ingredients.
Mange!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York, USA
1 review
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great food. Good portions! Always leave with leftovers. Staff is always friendly. Plenty of seating available, I recommend sitting upstairs for the most privacy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in my area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Marios is always my first choice for Italian takeout. Their white pizza is the best! We also love any chicken dish we've ordered, including chicken on our pizza. Highly recommend them!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Restaurant also viewed

Plainview, Long Island
Plainview, Long Island
 
Plainview, Long Island
Plainview, Long Island
 

Been to Mario's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mario's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.