We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Memorable Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xaviars at Piermont

Xaviars at Piermont
506 Piermont Ave, Piermont, NY 10968-1038
+1 845-359-7007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Piermont
Cuisines: Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
ny
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A Most Memorable Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Xaviers has an excellent well deserved reputation and tonight's meal was completely superior in every way. The staff was most welcoming and the service was perfect. But chef George DeMarsico's work in the kitchen was amazing. He created the most perfect King salmon dish that I have ever tasted. It melted in your mouth and the combination of foods with this perfect poached salmon was indeed inspired. We had the summer menu featuring fresh foods from the Farmer's Market nearby and each of the 5 courses was a stand-out starring the most tiny perfect details to add to the blending flavors. All 5 courses were unique and complete perfection. Chef George is a genius. Be sure to visit this summer on a Sunday night for the special menu (get your reservations). So worth the trip no matter where you come from to find this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    2
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new city ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently the finest food anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Our favorite restaurant for more than 20 years, it never fails to deliver the most delicious food in the most interesting ways with impeccable service. Intimate atmosphere in a small room, they will treat you like royalty. Reservations are essential well in advance. It has gotten a higher rating for food from Zagat's than any restaurant in Manhattan for the past several years, so that should tell you something. They've relaxed their dress code, which is a shame, but business is business I guess. Go for a special occasion, go to check it out, but go!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is our favorite special occasion restaurant. I love the staff here and the food is always incredible. If there is something special that you like (or don't like) let them know when you make the reservation and they will adjust the tasting menu. For example, we sometimes request a seared foie gras, and we've been there with some guests who had multiple food restrictions but were accommodated with grace.

This is a very small restaurant - maybe 40 seats in total, so a reservation is essential.

They do special wine events sometimes, which are fun and a good value.

Look for gift cards at Costco - they represent a very good value and you can use more than one at a time (there is a cap, but it's pretty high).

There are two down-sides to this restaurant:
- parking in Piermont is always a nuisance. And sometimes I always manage to be parking in a downpour.
- the decor is lovely (roses, crystal accents) but is tired. Time for a refresh.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

good food, nicely priced, plus free goodies withthe amuse and the dessert plate was a nice touch

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Xaviars in Piermont is truly gourmet. It is intimate, romantic and aesthetically finished.

The service is perfect and the food is to die for. I had an amazing halibut with couscous. My wife had a salmon which was amazing (and I normally will not eat salmon). The asparagus with crab meat tasted like desert and the desert tasted like heaven!

It is worth every penny if you are dining with your sweetheart!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xaviars at Piermont also viewed

 

Been to Xaviars at Piermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xaviars at Piermont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.