We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the retro vibe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenicia Diner

Phoenicia Diner
Route 28, Phoenicia, NY 12464
+1 845-688-9957
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Phoenicia
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hamburgers, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: Phoenicia Diner serves your favorite diner standbys based on locally-sourced, seasonal ingredients from nearby Catskills and Hudson Valley farms.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the retro vibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The atmosphere was awesome. Service was great. Had the egg with polenta. Delicious and serving size was on point. The server "Lisa" I believe was very friendly and we had a great conversation. Loved the whole experience

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    29
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a great change!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The new owners have transformed this formerly dingy, lifeless, passe' diner into a bright, cheery, retro style space that has really great food. I had the smoked salmon bagel, which was delicious! The only thing I would suggest to the chef is to slice the onion and tomato a little thinner. Coffee was good, service was pleasant and I will definitely return!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleischmanns, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Delicious and Trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This place is hopping on weekends. Good food combined with personal attention from the owner Mike, who is all about customer service. He delivers with a varied menu and a friendly, efficient wait staff. Lots of people show up, so you might wait for a table but it's worth it. I had grilled salmon with rice and veggies and snagged some fries from my friend's plate; it was all tasty and the portions were big.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This place is a real gem in a sea of mediocre places. Excellent food, nice people & cool space. Highly recommend breakfast tacos, veggie burger, and the world's best onion rings. Seriously best you'll ever have.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“i'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

had been wanting to try this diner based on word of mouth and online testimonials. took a drive over this morning and was not disappointed. the staff was very pleasant all around.

the room was buzzing for sunday breakfast and and a nice vintage feel. it looks like the current farm-to-table owners moved into an older roadside diner.

I ordered a polenta skillet -- and was not disappointed. It was two eggs over a bed of cheesy polenta and sauteed kale in a small skillet with size of toast. yum.

It was not the cheapest breakfast I've had in the area, but was not outrageous and I am happy to pay for quality.

I will be back, friends in tow.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenicia Diner also viewed

Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 

Been to Phoenicia Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenicia Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.