We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Customer service above and beyond anything we could have expected or hoped for!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viking Resort
Save
You added Viking Resort to your Saves list
680 East Lake Road, Penn Yan, NY 14527   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Penn Yan
Haddenham, Ely
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing! Customer service above and beyond anything we could have expected or hoped for!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This review may be slightly biased as the days previous to finding Viking Resort were so horrendous! The previous night we were washed out of our tent by torrential rain soaking all of our clothes and our sleeping bags! At the time we would have been happy with any accommodation!! However, the Viking was so much more that this. We were greeted with a warm friendly welcome and immediately liked the placed. I particularly like the owners modestly: when we asked for a budget room she apologised that it was small. Pleasingly it was much larger that we would have expected considering the cost. There was only a limited lake view but as it was a budget room we expected this.

When we inquired into finding somewhere local to wash and dry our clothes they offered to clean them for us even though they didn't offer a laundry service. This in it self was exceptionally good, however when we arrived back from our evening meal our clothes had already been put into the tumble dryer!!! I've never heard to such service! And at no additional cost. I think I should clarify that our circumstance was fairly unique and I think they felt particularly sorry for us; I mention this I would hate for other travelers so read this and then expect the same as that would be unfair on the owners.
The owners were also gave some great recommendations for local places to visit and get food. The adjacent lake was beautiful & I just wish we could have had some time to relax by the lake and have a swim.
We can't thank the Viking Resort and will return again!! Great value & great service -they could easily charge more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently took a trip to the Finger Lakes with another couple. This was a nice place to stay - nice location, nice views, comfy rooms. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was wet and rainy while we were there, but we could see how great this place would be in nice weather. My only complaint is that it cost an extra $20 a NIGHT for our 8 and a half pound dog! We stayed at a Hampton Inn in Pittsburgh and we didn't have to pay anything extra for our dog. I would recommend this place for a family or a getaway. Not fancy but comfy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It felt like time traveling back in time when we entered our resort cabin by the lake. The balcony and the view of Lake Keuka were magnificent, but two bedroom apartment we paid $340 for in late September was definitely not worth it, everything look old and tired, toilet got blocked first thing in the morning the rooms look like something from a motel in Idaho in 1956 and there were spiders in my room. Sitting on the balcony looking at the lake at midnight was sublime but the room's completely ruined the beautiful atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Went there with our children 25 years ago. Thought we would return as we have pleasant memories of the past. We were not disappointed . The resort is as relaxing as it always was. Beautiful lakeside location with a wonderful view of the lake, row boats to use, bonfire when it's not raining and friendly accommodating staff. Oh, yes, pet friendly for well behaved pets. Visited 9 wineries on the lake and there are more. Restaurants in the area are generally good.
Go there for a quiet get-away place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is just great! After enjoying beautiful Keuka Lake for 15 yrs, it is shame we did not discover The Viking much sooner. A fantastic waterfront, friendly to boaters, swimmers, and those that just want enjoy Keukas beauty and catch some sun in a friendly and uncrowded atmosphere. No time lost getting from your room to the water, because you are right there and that is what a vacation on the lake is all about. Rainy day, no problem, lots to do and see in the area..great parks, quaint towns, fun restaurants, endless wineries and even a bit of NASCAR or road racing in nearby Watkins Glen. Rooms have what you need ..a kitchen, decks and lake sounds and breezes. I've spent many nights hotels over decades travelling for work, from dives to luxury, and I'd trade this for any luxury hotel with a fake waterfall. The staff makes it that much better, makes you feel genuinely at home, so after all those fancy hotels, The Viking is in my top 3. Biased? You bet, I love the Finger Lakes and would go for a lake location like this with friendly folks anyday . Great prices too! Thanks to the Viking Staff for another great family vacation that we will remember.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the viking two summers in a row now. It's an absolutely amazing place with an absolutely amazing staff! It truly is a hidden gem. With Bon-fires every night to meet the other people that are staying there, it isn't hard to make friends and enjoy your time on the beach. I can't wait to visit again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

An hidden gem!! Been to Keuka lake twice before, and did not know this resort was there! We loved it! Extremely clean,comfortable beds,great fluffy towels!! Everything we needed in the rustic efficiency !! We stayed 3 nights, wished we could have stayed longer!! We docked our boat at the resort and could see it from our
porch!!! They do a bomb fire on the beach every evening, have roped off swim areas and a ton of space for lounging lakeside !! Bring a floating lounge to remake in the water! So close to a variety of wineries !! We will be for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Resort

Address: 680 East Lake Road, Penn Yan, NY 14527
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One thousand feet of private lake shore on beautiful Keuka Lake, in the heart of the Finger Lakes Region. Boat slips available. Accommodations include cottages, efficiency apartments, king suites and motel rooms. All have balconies facing the lake and most have fully equipped kitchens. Outdoor pool, hot tub. Nearby hiking glens and gorges. Evening campfires. Close to several wineries, the Glenn Curtiss Museum, Coming Glass Center, Watkins Glen. Seasonal, open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Penn Yan
Viking Resort Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.