We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, wonderful breakfasts, and friendly folks.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast
1491 State Route 14A, Penn Yan, NY 14527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
1 review
“Beautiful setting, wonderful breakfasts, and friendly folks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My wife and I spent 2 nights in one of the cabins at Los Gatos this past June, as part of a 5 day exploration of the Finger Lakes, and it was one of the highlights of our trip! We had never stayed at a B&B before, and weren’t sure what to expect from the more intimate setting than a normal hotel. But as soon as we arrived, we found Los Gatos to be a warm, inviting, and well appointed B&B, it was really perfect. Also, my wife is vegan, and Susan and Bernie were so accommodating to that in their DELICIOUS breakfasts! The first day we had eggless Belgian waffles (didn’t notice the deletion one bit), along with a variety of spreads and syrups that Susan jars herself, using local fruit! The second day we had an egg dish along with a hearty granola and more fruit. Coffee was super, mornings got off to a really great start, and Penn Yan was a great jumping off point to explore Lake Keuka, Watikins Glenn, Canandeigua, and some other amazing gems of the finger lakes.

Susan and Bernie are really magnificent hosts! One afternoon we found Bernie working in the garden, and we had a wonderful discussion about some of his innovative and sustainable garden projects. The grounds are just beautiful, a perfect place to reflect on a day of exploring, or to cool off in the not-too-chlorinated pool. There are great little touches here and there that showcase the style and thoughtfulness of the proprietors.

We’re looking forward to our next trip up to the finger lakes, we completely fell in love with the area...and we’ll definitely stay at Los Gattos again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
251
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Although we do not live too far away from Penn Yan, we were fortunate to have selected a bed and breakfast that put us into the heart of the Finger Lakes with its breathtaking views and numerous wineries. It was truly a splendid place to celebrate our anniversary getaway.
Los Gatos is lovely and well-maintained both on the inside and outside. We enjoyed walking in the gardens and examining the unique ways our hosts were developing their vegetables and fruits. Parking in relation to our room was perfect. We chose a downstairs room with private bath that was spacious, comfortable and quiet.
Our hosts were extremely congenial, and immediate picked up on our need for a special place for our dinner that evening. They helped us make a wise selection.
Our breakfast was healthy and unusual with strawberry sorbet to start and Apple Dutch Babies along with bacon and homemade English muffins. We were treated to their signature fruit jams and jellies, too, along with delicious coffee.
One other couple was staying there from out of the area, and the community area made it easy to sit for conversation in the evening.
We will definitely return, and hopefully for a longer stay next time. This will be a place that we will refer friends and family to when they visit our gorgeous Upstate New York.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Bernie and Susan are the most gracious and accomodating hosts. We stayed in the cabins which are perfect! The rooms in he house are also ideal. The BEST breakfasts you can get, t;hey should write recipe books with delicious "homemade" foods they serve. Beautiful scenery and immaculate. I cant say enough good about our stay!!!! A definite yearly vacation!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We spent four nights at Los Gatos in one of the cabins and could not have asked for a better stay! We lucked out with a clear sky our first night ~ time for stargazing! Burney entertained us for over an hour in the back field looking at Saturn, Mars, stars and nebulas. It would be hard to find a better breakfast anywhere, they ran the gamut from blueberry dutch babies, belgian waffles, and open faced omelets! All of the breakfasts were accompanied by strawberries fresh from the garden, their own jams and jellies and homemade grape juice that I begged them to ship home for us. Susan and Burney were happy to help with restaurant suggestions or places to visit, including a produce auction the day we were leaving. You couldn't ask for more congenial hosts or a more comfortable place to stay. The gardens and property are beautiful. Los Gatos is so close to many of the wineries on Keuka and Seneca Lake. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callahan, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Comfortable well-appointed rooms; friendly, helpful, hosts; attractive grounds on 6 acres with room to wander; great breakfasts; Burney even set up his telescope for star-gazing at night. Many wineries nearby for tastings; Mennonite vendors of quilts and products, several good restaurants within driving distance of a mile or two.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed here on our annual trip to the Finger Lakes, checking out our favorite wineries. We usually stay at a B&B and saw the great reviews online, so we called Susan and Bernie to make a reservation. We couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms were impeccably clean. The bathrooms completely modern. All rooms have television, though we didn't watch it much as there is so much to do, and so many wineries to visit! Breakfast is at 9 and was absolutely delicicious. Bernie dons his chef's hat and Susan works her magic! Make sure you meet Buttercup and Friskie, two of their three cats. (Wanted to meet the third, but she was nowhere to be found!) Aboslutely adorable and so people friendly. A terrific stay. Can't recommend this inn more highly! Kudos to Susan and Bernie! Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Couldn't ask for anything more! We have been to many, many B&B's throughout the states and Canada and Los Gatos is hands down the best. Thanks to Burney & Susan for a most memorable weekend. We finally have found our 'spot' in the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1491 State Route 14A, Penn Yan, NY 14527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary solar powered home has five large comfortable rooms, including two log cabins. All have queen sized beds, private baths, and air-conditioning. We feature beautiful country views, yet are just minutes from Seneca and Keuka Lakes. Enjoy one of our award-winning breakfasts, then relax and watch the goldfinches and hummingbirds as they flit through our flower gardens. Fill your days with all that the Finger Lakes have to offer, then relax on our spacious deck and gazebo. In the evening, we can recommend a restaurant that suits your mood. On clear nights we can give star tours with a large telescope on our back lawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Gatos Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.