We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overnight Accommodations; Not a Vacation Spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   142 Lake St, Penn Yan, NY 14527   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penn Yan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Overnight Accommodations; Not a Vacation Spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

Hotel was clean (and I'm picky). Front desk folks were nice and also helpful with directions. Breakfast was basic, nothing spectacular but food area was clean and food nicely presented. Location of the hotel is on the corner of a busy intersection in the middle of a small village in the middle of a rural area. I would not stay here to "vacation", the hotel is not located in a scenic spot and not much to do here. It served our purposes; a clean pleasant place to sleep, bathe and dress for a wedding we were attending nearby. Several folks staying there seemed to also be attending family gatherings nearby.

  • Liked — Cleanliness. And, they take dogs.
  • Disliked — Physical location
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    95
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
127
179
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finger Lakes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

This Best Western has a birthday package, which can include an early check in. They will provide a cake, set their dining area up for you, and provide goody bags. We have had several parties there with our kids and their friends and had a great time! My kids have winter time birthdays and I am always looking for something fun to do with their friends. This is the perfect slumber party because my house stays neat with the kids staying at the hotel! I love it.

  • Liked — It is new and very clean
  • Disliked — It's too bad it doesn't have a lake view.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

We booked a group stay. When our guests called they were lied to. The hotel said our block of rooms were full which they were not. Our guests were charged almost twice the price we were told when we agreed to book our group there. Their contract didn't say any of the things they discussed verbally with us. We trusted their words and were taken advantage of. We tried to compromise and even told the manager that we would be willing to write a letter to corporate or the owner. The manager was nasty to us. He refused to give us any information and left us with no choices for resolution.
I think he could have done a better job working with us, instead, he would not offer any help or even a compromise.

Long story short, don't waste your time if you have large group or party. Clearly this place is only there to make money and not to make the customers happy. There are other much nicer places in the area that treat you like you are important to them and offer better deals for your money. I recommend the Esperanza Mansion or several very sweet B&B's.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

We stayed at the BW in Penn Yan in August, 2005, not long after its opening. Brought our two dogs with us, who were greeted by staff as honored guests as well. We had a large, first floor room that was very clean. We kept our small bowrider that we trailered in the parking lot at no extra fee although it took up a lot of room. The jacuzzi spa was a lot of fun although it closed at 10 pm, well before we were ready to call it a night. There's not really any nightlife to speak of in Penn Yan, but if you spend your morning boating and swimming on Keuka Lake and hit some good wineries in the afternoon, it pretty much makes for a full vacation day. The hotel was quiet even though it was obviously full with visitors, no slamming doors or noisy kids. After spending a summer trekking around Europe and staying in 10 x 10 foot rooms for double the price, our overnight trip to the BW was really appreciated. The only downside was that there were two double beds and 4 of us (a beagle, a boston terrier, my husband and I) all sleeping in the same bed; the dogs couldn't be convinced to leave the pack bed and it was pretty tight. We all would have preferred a king. I slept in and missed the breakfast, but the manager was nice enough to give me a bagel and juice when I checked out even though the stuff was all put away. The staff was great.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

We recently spent two nights at this new hotel, as an anniversary getaway. Although the hotel was very clean, most of the staff did not seem knowledgeable of the surrounding area or what the hotel had to offer. Prior to arriving at the hotel I had called to obtain information on their 'special packages'; it took four days before I finally spoke with someone who somewhat knew any details. The ads I had seen on the website & various brochures stated that the suites offered jacuzzis. I was quite shocked to find, in the Presidential suite, a small bathtub with jets. The fireplace is rather inconveniently located for aesthetic purposes, the wallpaper was torn & shredded in some areas, some of the lights did not work, a bathrobe was torn, and the room had several areas which seemed unfinished. The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast, nothing special. I do feel this room was greatly overpriced. I would have second thoughts about staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lockport, ny
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2005

Brand new! Very clean! Very pleasant employees!
Continental breakfast needs some work.
Room prices are on the high side.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden NY
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

We just had to stay there because it has just finised being built. I could tell the hotel was new, but not the staff! they were all dressed right and very courtious! they acted like they had been doing this job forever. We didn't have any problems while we were there, it was just a great experience. The pool was great as was the free breakfast in the morning!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites

Address: 142 Lake St, Penn Yan, NY 14527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The proud winner of the Design Excellence Award and a consistent recipient of top honors for cleanliness. The Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn & Suites is a charming Finger Lakes hotel located in the awe-inspiring and romantic Finger Lakes Wine Region of New York State. Enjoy the convenience of being within walking distance to historic downtown Penn Yan and Keuka Lake. Just a short drive from unique restaurants (Esperanza Mansion), museums (Corning Museum of Glass) and attractions (Windmill Farm & Craft Market). With 57 beautifully-appointed guest rooms you are able to select from a myriad stylish room types: Standard Double Queen, Deluxe King, Grand King Suites, Presidential Suites, King Suite, Deluxe King Suite. Modern conveniences include microwave, refrigerator, cable TV, coffee maker, iron & ironing board and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn and Suites is Finger Lakes lodging at its finest. The Vineyard Inn and Suites is here to make your stay in Penn Yan as comfortable and convenient as possible. Convenience begins with their complimentary breakfast inspired by local Finger Lakes cuisine. It continues with their Finger Lakes on-site concierge who can help you experience all that the Finger Lakes Region has to offer. Once you return, enjoy their state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool and hot tub, and free high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Vineyard Hotel Penn Yan
Best Western Plus Vineyard Inn And Suites
Best Western Penn Yan
Penn Yan Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.