We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time at The Fox Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
158 Main Street, Penn Yan, NY 14527   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time at The Fox Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent two nights at the Fox Inn in early June and the overall experience was excellent. We traveled with another couple and they too agreed that this was one of the best B&B's we've seen. The house blends old world charm with modern amenities, the rooms are comfortable and the small downtown core of Penn Yan is essentially next door. Breakfast was plentiful and Mike and Tanya were terrific hosts. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
87
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent three nights at The Fox Inn and found it very much as advertised. One of the things which had attracted us was the breakfast choices presented, and we enjoyed these very much. Breakfast was served promptly and pleasantly, and the food was very nicely prepared and tasty. Our room (the Lucy room) was quite adequate. The only thing lacking was a nicer chair than the two straight-back chairs provided in the room. The weather was quite hot when we arrived and we were concerned that the air conditioner in the window might not prove adequate to the task, but it worked very well for the duration of our stay. While the public rooms are interesting and spacious, including a large pool table in one, they were not appealing due to their dark décor and the fact that the windows were kept closed. All in all, we had a pleasant stay, but are probably not quite dyed-in-the-wool B&Bers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

spent 2 nights at fox inn in late july. classic family run b&b with nice antique furnishings. service was outstanding from new owners mike and Tanya. breakfast both days, made to order, was fantastic. very reasonable priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Spent several days bicycling with friends and visiting wineries in the Finger Lakes. Penn Yan is centrally located for such excursions, and though a bit run-down as a town, the Fox Inn is on a beautiful block and is a terrific stay. Very friendly new owners, great breakfasts, pleasant rooms, lovely garden out back.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The front-most room on the 2nd floor is huge and done wonderfully in art deco style furnishings and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Fox Inn has been my favorite place for several years. Mike and Tanya, the new owners, have continued the tradition and made some wonderful new additions. The decor of the entire place is beautiful. In particular, the Lucy Fox Room in which I always stay, is beautifully furnished, extremely comfortable, and has everything including a basket of snacks and water in addition to the usual basket in the bathroom with shampoo, body lotion, etc. The breakfasts are outstanding and I always look forward to the delicious creme brule french toast. Mike and Tanya are warm and caring delightful people. Staying here is the ultimate in perfection.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. I just happen to favor the Lucy Fox Room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We visited the Fox Inn a few months ago and a had a not so splendid experience. On this visit - we had an excellent experience! Since Mike and Tanya became the new owners, they have clearly taken over seamlessly. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing or inviting environment! Everyone we met was so friendly and happy to chat with us, and make recommendations about where to go, what to do or even to make small talk with us. The breakfasts were still phenomenal! The William Oliver room was spacious and luxurious, and spotless of course! The room has a complimentary snack basket very unlike other B&Bs! Overall an amazing experience - from a very family-oriented B&B and we loved every minute of it! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The William Oliver room was spacious and luxurious, and spotless of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed two nights at The Fox Inn in the Lucy Fox Room for our anniversary. We loved the historic atmosphere throughout both the interior and exterior of the house. The attention to detail was exceptional. From the snack basket in our room to the scrumptious gourmet breakfast selections that include crème brûlée french toast to a variety of frittatas, Mike and Tanya create a hospitable atmosphere that makes you look forward to your next visit there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 158 Main Street, Penn Yan, NY 14527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Greek Revival 1820 Brick Inn is a historic landmark that will take you back in history to quieter times.The Inn is furnished with period antiques, interesting paintings,and is completely restored to it's original splendor-yet updated with the latest amenities and comfort.A choice of several gourmet breakfasts await you each morning in our formal dining room with it's beautiful maple and cherry floor. For your enjoyment relax in front of our marble fireplace in the main parlor or enjoy a game of pool in our front parlor on our full size billiards table while sipping a great Finger Lakes wine.In the Spring through Fall stroll though our gardens complete with a picnic table and three fountains $ water features.Our room accommodations include six bedrooms composed of the William Oliver Master Bedroom with private whirlpool tub for two and gas fireplace. The Lucy Hall Fox room with canopy bed, and private shower. The Dorothy Fox bedroom with it's country themed furnishings, in room gas stove, and whirlpool tub. The Harry fox room with four poster bed, whirlpool tub and shower on the first floor and the William Fox two bedroom Suite with two separate bedrooms and a large private rain drop shower.All accommodations have TVs,A/C, bath robes,irons and hair dryers.Park your car at our Inn and Conveniently walk in Penn Yan no more than one or two blocks to several restaurants, pubs, grocery stores, and gift shops. ENJOY! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.