We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timmy G's

Timmy G's
Maiden Lane, Penn Yan, NY 14527
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Penn Yan
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a new restaurant and is on small lane off Main St in downtown Penn Yan, NY
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place is a bit off the beaten path, back a side alley but a hidden gem. Food is great, pleasant staff. A good place for lunch

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penn Yan, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This visit took place on a Monday during the height of Summer. Maybe it's better now but that day, the food quality was poor. I chose the pulled pork sandwich which their menu stated they made fresh daily. Not that day. The flavor was unappealing, the meat was very dry and seemed like it had been rewarmed several times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

For anyone who remembers this place as the Red Rooster, you need to try it again. It's light years better with a new owner. Excellent staff, very reasonable prices, and great food. If you're tired of snob food with names you can't pronounce, or if you just like good food, you need to give this place a shot. I've been there at least a dozen times and have never been disappointed. Exxxxcellennnnt!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Penn Yan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had our dinner here on a cold Saturday night. They were comfortably busy when we arrived around 7. The staff was outgoing & the food was very good. We each had a cup of a different soup & a specialty sandwich. All were equally hot & very tasty. Next time we'll go for a full dinner which I'm sure will be as well prepared as our soups & sandwiches were. This is not a big place & the bar in the center takes up a good amount of the floor space. The booths were good size & private enough to hear our own conversation & not everyone else. We will definitely return. It was a warm friendly, welcoming place on a cold night!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

this is one of the best restrauants in penn yan. food is always good. friendly especially waitresses brandi and jolene. they make you feel special. love to go there for lunch and dinner and keep going back....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timmy G's also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Timmy G's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timmy G's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.