We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timmy G's

Timmy G's
Maiden Lane, Penn Yan, NY 14527
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Penn Yan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a new restaurant and is on small lane off Main St in downtown Penn Yan, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

When I called to have lunch ready for a certian time there was absolutly not a problem, the service was great over the phone and when I cam eand go the food. The BBQ chicken wrap was great it had fresh veggies in it the BBQ sauce was great, but what really impressed me was that the chicken was really grilled (unlike many other places say that their chicken is grilled , but really is boiled) I tasted the grilled chicken and loved it. I will be going back there to try different items. Thank you for such a great service,a nd great food Timmy G's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good, quick stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We just needed a quick place to grab lunch - for 12 of us! Timmy G's was recommended by a local, so why not try it?! They accepted our large number w/o complaint & promptly and patiently brought cold drinks & hot food to our tables in a very efficient manner. Price appropriate at about $10 per person.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A "Souper" Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The restaurant is a hidden gem, located on a one-way street (Maiden La.) behind the fire hall. We stopped for lunch without knowing what to expect and are very glad we did. Everything is made fresh every day and the staff is very friendly and helpful. My wife had tomato/smoked gouda soup and I ordered the potato/bacon/cheddar soup. Both were quite good. Her BLT wrap was excellent, with plenty of yummy crispy bacon and homemade potato chips. My reuben had a good amount of corned beef that was flavorful but a bit salty. Be sure to order the "Timmy G's Slaw" as a side, it was excellent! We are looking forward to going back soon and trying their supper fare - already know what I'm having; Chicken French and grilled asparagus!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Menu and Daily Specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Timmy G's is a nice, comfortable place to eat with an interesting menu and great food. We have been there a number of times and we have always had excellent food and service. They always have specials which make it tough to decide what to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We love the food and atmosphere. If you want to eat where the locals do, stop here! Make sure to try their bacon hamburger or Bully Hill special. You also can't go wrong with their fries. Make sure to leave room for dessert, it is great!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timmy G's also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Timmy G's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timmy G's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.