We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chicken French” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Liberty Restaurant

The Liberty Restaurant
221 East Elm St., Penn Yan, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Penn Yan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Penn Yan, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Chicken French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I love that dish at this restaurant. The flavor is wonderful and they serve a couple of artichoke French pieces with the chicken. We were there last Sunday night and as my mouth watered for this dish we made a point of going there. I have also been to this restaurant recently for lunch and it was delicious. We always park in the back off of Seneca St. It's a hidden gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very friendly welcome led to tasting a couple of beers when we were undecided. Excellent service that way. When the waitress read the specials she said 8 bucks for what I eventually ordered. It appeared as 15 bucks on the bill. I asked if there was a mistake. I was told that 15 was it. I did not protest. My wife's ahi tuna salad was less than pleasing. Sorry about the sour review of what seems to be a wonderful experience for so many others, but this was OUR experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We happened by the Liberty last night. It was recommended by friends of our who live nearby. They told us it was casual. It certainly was but very comfortable at the same time.

We were impressed by a number of things.

First, service was impeccable. Help was at our table when we needed it but at the same time nobody was hanging around waiting to pounce. They just paid attention and came by when it was obvious we needed something.

Second the food was terrific. Everything we had was very tasty. I do wish there was another beef choice on the menu however.

Third, prices were very reasonable.

I know we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews decided to go to this hole in the wall. The place was packed. We had to wait about 20 minutes but omg 14 oz ribeye with mushrooms bake potato for $20.00 well worth it. Cooked perfectly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I stopped in to try dinner since we heard great things about it. It was a Saturday night and it was awesome. I had prime rib and she had chicken French, The service was wonderful and there was too much food! We met the owner Sue and we talked to Crissy our waitress. They were so nice and made us feel right at home. I would highly recommend this home style type restaurant.

Gary

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Liberty Restaurant also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Liberty Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Liberty Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.