We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with anywhere else....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penn Yan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
208 Main Street, Penn Yan, NY 14527   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Penn Yan B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't bother with anywhere else....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I just enjoyed our first trip to the Finger Lakes. We had the good fortune and judgement to have stayed at La Belle Vie. It was, in short, the best B&B experience either of us has ever had.

The Property: It's a marvelous manor. Large and perfectly preserved in its antiquity, this home is overwhelming in its charming detail. The room we stayed in (The Ridley Room) was the largest in the house. Beyond spacious, the Ridley room was very well appointed and incredibly clean and comfortable. It came complete with a huge terrace with comfy patio furniture to enjoy the warm morning sun and the calming glow of a full moon on a crisp spring night.

The Food: I cannot give high enough marks to the breakfasts we enjoyed during our stay at La Belle Vie. The first morning we relished a spectacular egg and mushroom dish, accompanied by pancetta wrapped asparagus, complete with a divine fruit salad with mint-sugar sauce and absolutely perfect ginger scones. The second morning of our stay we devoured unique and scrumptious lemon-ricotta pancakes with succulent eggs and baby spinach, paired with honeydew melon and tart raspberry sauce and fresh blueberry muffins.
The coffee was lovely; the juice fresh. This is what I call a breakfast. (P.S.- our hosts packed up extra muffins for our drive home. Nice touch.)

The Owners: By far the best feature of the inn is the owners, Laurel and Llewellen. Charming, kind, attentive yet not overbearing, these two have this thing down to a tee. Laurel works her magic in the kitchen while Llewellen plays the role of Rick in Casablanca and hosts and serves at meal time. These two are too sweet for words. They are interesting to talk to, clearly love their jobs, and bring their affectionate care and attention to detail to every aspect of one's stay. (PS: the inn's walls are dotted with rather impressive photography by the master of the house.)

Above all, it's the value of this b&b that distinguishes it from the rest. For only about 150 dollars, one may avail themselves of La Belle Vie's luxurious rooms and breakfast. The meal alone would call for a charge of $30 a person at any respectable Manhattan brunch spot. This place is, in short, a steal.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. If you're going to the Finger Lakes, don't gamble. Stay here.

Room Tip: The Ridley Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
129
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our first trip to the finger lakes and had an excellent 3 night stay at La Belle Vie. The B&B is in a great spot in Penn Yan, nice village to walk through and in easy drive distance to 2 Wine Trails and surrounding sights. Laurel and Llewellyn are excellent hosts and just what you hope to find at a B&B, interesting, pleasant, and accommodating people. The rooms are are spacious and provide a great mix of history along with the modern needs of Wi Fi and never ending hot water. Great breakfasts with delicious coffee and engaging conversation. If you like B&B's and are looking for a central place to enjoy the finger lakes, La Belle Vie would make an excellent selection!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at La Belle Vie. The house is furnished with beautiful antique furniture and the rooms are spacious with brand new en suite bathrooms. Laurel cooks an amazing breakfast every morning, including homemade blueberry muffins or the fantastic ginger scones! Both Laurel & Llewellyn were so welcoming. They know a lot about the local area and didn't hesitate to sit down with us and show us where the local towns, restaurants, walks and wineries were. Hope to return in the summer and make use of the lovely veranda outside the Ridley room!

Room Tip: The Ridley room is the largest and most luxurious. Also has veranda that you can sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We spent 4 nights at this awesome B&B August 19 to the 23rd, for our eighteenth anniversary.
The "Ridley" room was so luxurious and romantic. We spent a great deal of time on our own porch/veranda and just relaxed. Our hosts are the most lovely people and Lauren is an outstanding and inventive chef. Her ginger scones are to die for. Both she and Llewellyn were wonderful to talk to. Great sense of humor and outlook on life. We will return.

Room Tip: The Ridley is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hosts, Laurel & Llewellyn are friendly, professional hosts. The B&B has wonderful historical detail, yet has modern touches with spacious rooms, spa like bathrooms, plush towels, soft sheets, and tasteful decor. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The setting in Penn Yan is near vineyards, rolling farmlands and fine dining.

Room Tip: All the bedrooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a long waited review from our short holiday in Penn Yan. We stayed at the property in august 2011. Loved the place from the first sight. Laurel & Llewellyn are wonderful hosts. Very welcoming, pleasant and interesting people. They now a lot about the place and gave us plenty advise of what to do and where to go around the area. The house is full of history, the rooms are tidy and charming. Modern bathrooms and plenty of hot water. Breakfast tasty and generous. We were absolutely stuffed by the time we finished with it. The were also evening cup of tea and interesting conversations. Actually the tea was available as first thing, when we arrived. And after 5 hours drive, there was nothing better as to sit sown on a terrace and have a drink. We would recommend this place!!!

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

after searching for a b&b with a spacious room and modern bathroom, we were more than pleased with this beautiful Victorian located near many of the premier finger lake vineyards...the accommodations were spotless and our gracious hosts could not be nicer or more helpful...Laurel and Llewellyn provided a wonderful gourmet breakfast every am and offered suggestions about the area that added to our overall wonderful experience...we highly recommend this b&b!

Room Tip: the Ridley Room was beautiful with large modern bathroom/shower and walk-in closet ...also private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast

Address: 208 Main Street, Penn Yan, NY 14527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Penn Yan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Penn Yan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Belle Vie B&B. Vintage 1865 Victorian in Historic District of village. All rooms feature period decor, antiques, queen bed, desk, and comfortable chairs. Also A/C, cable TV/DVD/CD player and Wi-Fi in every room. En suite bathrooms newly renovated. Beautiful private grounds with croquet and badminton available. Plenty of off-street parking. Five-minute walk along Main Street to village center including museums, shops, bookstores, restaurants, churches, and the Keuka Outlet Trail. Many wineries, antique shops, farms and lakes within a short, pleasant drive from this heart of the Finger Lakes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast Penn Yan, Finger Lakes, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Vie Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.