We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owner Pulled Out All the Stops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarrasin's on the Lake - CLOSED

Sarrasin's on the Lake
301 Lake Street (Boat Yard Grill), Penn Yan, NY 14527
315-536-9494
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New Owner Pulled Out All the Stops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Tammy the new owner at New Serrasins or Boat Yard was amazing! We eloped in October 2012 at the restaurant's lakeside dock. She helped with all the details and even let us borrow her personal fancy wine glasses for our dinner. The dinner was great; our steaks were cooked perfectly and the view was fantastic. We would definitely visit again. Try the artichoke appitizer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yuck!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Food was actually terrible. Rolls were completely hard and in edible. Advised waitress I was a vegetarian yet my marinara sauce came out with sausage!!

Took so long for service. We waited 25 mins for the check

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Falls, NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Place to Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My boyfriend ordered Vegetarian Lasagna which was delivered to the table cold. And the $18.95 plate of Sauteed Sea Scallops I ordered, they switched for $4 a pound baked bay scallops which were rubbery and tasteless. I just happen to know the difference and there is no comparison. This restaurant tried to pull a fast one but didn't quite make it. When the Floor Manager came to our table when I called them on it, she admitted she saw the scallops being prepared and that they weren't sea scallops but did not apologize for trying to cheat me, or for my boyfriend's cold lasagna. How did bay scallops get on my plate if I didn't order them and she saw them in the kitchen??? She offered to heat the lasagna up, or get a different plate of lasagna, and asked if I'd like something else from the menu (do you really think so?) They offered to adjust our bill by 50%, so our bill was still $24 for terrible food. For these menu prices we expect high quality food (it's not McDonalds!) and the only fix acceptable would have been the chef personally coming to the table and apologizing, and offering the dinner on the house and a voucher for dinner on the house on another day, to prove they could do better. This restaurant has a lot to learn about customer service. We will never go back to this restaurant. Don't go to this place, there are too many other good choices in the area.

Terri M.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester,new york
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“new owner- now Boat Yard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went with a group. Service good, but food just okay. My rueben was not grilled, as they should be. Sandwich was not even warm/ Cheese not melted and the sauerkraut cold. My husband's steak sandwich was also cold. Location is great- near town and right on the lake.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“High hopes dashed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This restaurant is now under new ownership and renamed the The Boatyard. No liquor license and terrible, way overcooked food. My husband had the fish fry a friday nite staple and it was so dry he thought it had been cooked days before and reheated. I hate fried shrimp dinner w/garlic smashed potatoes and limp vegetables. The food was barely warm and the garlic must have been waved over the potatoes. Nothing inviting about the decor. Hope these new owners get a new chef soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarrasin's on the Lake also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarrasin's on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.