We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High hopes dashed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sarrasin's on the Lake - CLOSED

Sarrasin's on the Lake
301 Lake Street (Boat Yard Grill), Penn Yan, NY 14527
315-536-9494
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Penfield, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“High hopes dashed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This restaurant is now under new ownership and renamed the The Boatyard. No liquor license and terrible, way overcooked food. My husband had the fish fry a friday nite staple and it was so dry he thought it had been cooked days before and reheated. I hate fried shrimp dinner w/garlic smashed potatoes and limp vegetables. The food was barely warm and the garlic must have been waved over the potatoes. Nothing inviting about the decor. Hope these new owners get a new chef soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    3
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leroy NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place if you have 2 hours to kill for lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Nothing good to say except it is located on the lake so you can sit on the deck and feel the lake breeze. Went for lunch and there were maybe 8 or 10 tables full including the inside and deck for 2 waitresses. Didnt seem like much to handle. All the waitresses did the whole time were huiff and puff and run around like they were busy. Took about 2 hours for 2 salads, 2 sanwiches and 2 kids grilled cheese. Heck, it even took 20 minutes for 2 people in our party to get their beers. Come on, This is basic restaurant food, sanwiches and such, not gourmet dining. Food was average when it finally did come. I went to the bathroom and both servers were complaining about the chef which probably shouldnt be done in front of customers. The lady running the front was yacking on the phone, sounded personal. When we finally got the bill, my wife took it inside on her way to the bathroom and asked the lady managing to run it (so we wouldnt have to wait another 15 minutes). She scoffed at the request and gave my wife a dirty look as if that wasnt her job. We ate here 2 years ago and swore we wouldnt go back due to slow service and we should have stuck to that. Never again! If you want good sandwiches and bar food, go to Lloyds Limited in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Yes, this is called the "New" Sarrasin's; not sure what is "new" about it but would have liked to have seen the old as the new isn't so great. We went here for lunch, decided to sit outside as it was a beautiful day. Cobwebs were all over the chairs. Waited a long time to have even our drink order taken. They were out of many, many items - granted it was close to the end of lunch but still don't understand these kinds of things. I had the ravioli which honestly was nothing special - the sauce tasted like it could have come out of a jar. We paid cash and when asked for a receipt were told that receipts are not given when you pay cash, only when you pay with credit card - huh??? Waitress wasn't very nice about it either so she got a dollar taken off her tip. The best part of this place was the view, otherwise would not recommend.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“New management but that's about all that's changed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place is now called The "NEW" Sarrasins with new management (local couple who have owned a restaurant in the area in the past) but nothing has changed. The interior is still dated and vanilla and does not play on the great location/view. There were four in our party and we thought we'd give it one more try. I have had my worst restaurant experiences in this restaurant but I went with an open mind. We ate in the bar area - there was another table of 4 and a table of 6 at about 7 PM. We waited over 5 minutes after being seated before our drink order was taken and the menus were forgotten until we had to ask for them a third time. I had the "smothered chicken" which was nothing more than a grilled chicken breast covered in undercooked green pepper and onions (crispy) and topped with melted mozarella. The roll basket was brought to the table only after we requested it. There were two rolls inside - the size of golf balls! We did ask for a fresh basket and the warm rolls that were brought out were chewy and flavorful. Potato choices were garlic smashed, baked, or oven roasted. No french fries. The oven roasted were served cold. We did not get a second cocktail as no one was around to take our order and at a certain point we no longer wanted to beg to spend our money in that restaurant. The bartender (also the manager) was at the bar watching Jeopardy but not keeping an eye on the paying customers. We didn't want to stick around to try to get desert. We had to get up to find someone to give us the check and a busboy finally came by the retrieve the money saying that the waitress was swamped. We saw only the table of 6 in our area and the parking lot was empty. The fact that this restaurant is so poorly run is a shame! It could be the hottest spot on Keuka Lake with the right menu, quality, atmosphere, and focus toward a younger summer lakeside crowd.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The previous reviewer was right. They can't handle the restaurant along with a wedding. It took 35 minutes, and us asking, just to get bread. We were starving. Food then came out quickly, but the only thing worthwhile was the toast with asiago cheese, one of the starters. The food really was very average. I thought I was going out for fine dining, but it's obviously not that type of place. We ate outside, and their were cobwebs on chair legs and table legs. It's obviously not kept well. It was our only poor meal on a 10 day road trip. Find somewhere else to eat, it's not worth it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarrasin's on the Lake also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarrasin's on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.