We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find - but meal was very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
16 Maiden Ln, Penn Yan, NY 14527
315-536-6512
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Penn Yan
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Homer
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hard to find - but meal was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Restaurant is located off a one-way street - had a hard time finding it, but glad that we did. Meal was very good. Margarita's were good but pretty pricey for the amount. The meals were reasonably priced. Was a busy Friday night but we were seated quickly, served quickly. Meal was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    32
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time and last time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I heard fav reviews and was so disappointed. What a terrible experience. There were only 2 tables of 2 when we arrived. We waited 10 mins to be seated then another 10 for a waitress, who was miserable, to show up. Two more tables arrived after we ordered. They of course were served well before us. When our food finally arrived the meat was shoe leather and very fatty. We just wanted to leave and couldn't get the bill to save out lives.
Never never never again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great enchiladas with green sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I ate dinner here last night and enjoyed our nice and spicy enchiladas with green sauce. Not impressed with the drinks (had sangria and a margarita) but the service was very good and really enjoyed our conversation with the owner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mexican-do right in downtown Penn Yan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After a long day exploring and enjoying the Seneca lake wine trail , we walked to La Cocina for dinner and we weren't disappointed.The service was prompt and courteous. The food was generous,delicious and were priced reasonably.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Spending the Labor Day holiday weekend at Keuka Lake. Tried to go to another restaurant near La Cocina and they were closed for the entire holiday weekend! Surprised by that. Told my husband, fate has chosen us to try La Cocina as it was right there and very much open. We were seated promptly. Served fresh homemade salsa & chips. We are not margarita lovers, but "when in Rome" as the saying goes, we tried their margaritas. They were some of the best we have ever had. Perfect amount of tequila, not too sweet or tart. Very pleasantly surprised. We had the Queso Fundido & Chicken tortilla soup for appetizers. Yum. Both were hot & fresh. Good flavor. Perfect serving sizes. Helped us kill our margaritas quickly! We the ordered round 2 of margaritas and dinner was served! I had the Sampler platter...beef taco, beef & bean & chicken enchilada. Hubby had carne asada tacos. Everything was fresh and hot. The chopped tomatoes on the sides were home grown. The pico de gallo was made with fresh cilantro and tomatoes. So enjoyable. He has eaten many Mexican meals in Mexico, California etc and said this was spot on authentic Mexican cuisine. These flavors were not spicy or over killed with any cumin or hot peppers. Just simple, fresh shredded meats, freshly made salsa & tortillas. The beans are not refried canned beans, but homemade pinto beans. They were perfect. We will definitely go back to dine here. The service, staff and general dining experience was perfect. Our check was $50.06. We brought home some of my burrito & beans. I was stuffed. That will be a meal for tomorrow! We were pleasantly surprised and will go back on another trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cocina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.