We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best diner in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karen's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Karen's
Route 22, Pawling, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Pawling
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best diner in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The BEST diner in the area, no question!
Everything I ever have here is delicious, breakfast or lunch. Karen is one of the nicest people I've ever met; genuine and welcoming. Service is fast and friendly. Everything tastes home-cooked. My favorite is the Philly Cheese Steak Wrap. Prices are VERY fair.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Know How To Treat Customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Unless you are a real local, they don't want to see you in this little diner. The waitress kept interrupting our conversation and only had negative things to say. Also, the order came out wrong and asked to correct it the waitress just gave a blank stare and wanted to be sure it "wasn't good enough" before taking it back to the kitchen. By the time my order came back to the table all the food was cold, like the let it sit in the kitchen just to teach me a lesson.
Someone said this is an oasis. It is. Meaning there are no other options nearby, otherwise we would have left.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxedo Park, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“crazy good cute luncheonette!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Happened upon this little gem on my scenic drive back from Connecticut - wow just the type of place I like, down home cooking, super friendly wait staff (bunch of chatters) and old time ambience. Had a fantastic burger and fries - I will go out of my way to return - even though a long way from home!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW WINDSOR
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“An Oasis on Route 22”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Yes, an Oasis....a place to stop for coffee and a BLT, or a good breakfast. Not a great deal of choices in Patterson - Pawling area. We visited for lunch a few times. This is a little home town diner. Certainly not fine dining. The place was clean, only one bathroom tho, and sitting near it in the dining room was a bit uninviting. The coffee was good, the food average for a diner, and the price was about you would expect to pay anyplace else in a diner in the NY Metro area. If you're traveling up the lovely Route 22 on a day's outing, don't be afraid to stop at Karen's Diner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stormville, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Little luncheonette”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place is pretty busy for breakfast but it is the only place for miles. The food is okay, but nothing to rave about. The interior is minimal and could use some work.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karen's also viewed

 

Been to Karen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.