We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Visitor Interpretive Center at Paul Smiths

Visitor Interpretive Center at Paul Smiths
8023 State Route 30, Paul Smiths, NY 12970
518-327-6241
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 3,000-acre Paul Smith's College VIC features 6 miles of interpretive trails and 8 miles of back country trails that showcase the natural beauty of the Adirondack Mountains and provide unparalleled opportunities to view, hear, photograph, and enjoy nature. Free admission. The VIC also offers a wide variety of arts, sports, and educational programs throughout the year, including bird walks and nature walks, trail runs, children's educational programs, art exhibits, concerts, lectures, workshops, and naturalist-led paddles. A native-species Butterfly House is open during the summer months. During the winter months, the trails are groomed and open for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, and skate skiing for a fee.
Thomasville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a wonderful walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Now under the management of Paul Smiths College we have always loved this place in all 4 seasons. The new trail marking system could be better.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rainbow Lake, New York, United States
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Trails and Exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This facility has many exhibits that reflect the local ecology. There are many ongoing events such as writers evenings. The complex includes many trails for hiking, snowshoeing, x-country skiing and jogging. It also hosts a farmers market in season and is excellent for birding.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“An easy stroll through nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our brief visit through the walking trails. It's a place to enjoy nature while learning a bit about the local flora and fauna. A great place to take kids or for those who can't do the more strenuous hikes.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice visit, enjoyed by the whole family, FREE admission!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We went here last Sunday while visiting Saranac Lake for the weekend. We started at the butterfly house which my 6 yr old LOVED! They have both butterflies flying around as well as numerous different kinds of caterpillars in tanks. The woman who worked in the butterfly house was very helpful and informative. From here, we went into the main part of the center, and we got a map at the front desk of the many miles of walking trails on the property. The man at the desk recommended an easy, 1 mile walk for us (we had both our 6 and 2 yr old with us). The trail was very nicely kept, smooth, mostly flat, free of rocks and roots (our 2 yr old was able to hike around without a problem). We had a lovely walk through the woods, past a river that followed much of the trail with little docks now and then to walk out on, a bridge, a beaver dam, etc. There were many miles of trails, so if you don't have small children with you, you could spend many hours hiking if you wanted to. There was also a small playground area by the main center that we spent a few minutes at on the way out. We spent about 2 hours here with small children b/w the butterfly house, a short hike, and the playground. A very nice time and a free attraction (you can give a donation if you'd like).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Went here the day after a huge storm blew through the Adirondacks causing a considerable amount of damage in the area. The power was out in the main building, so decided to hike. It was a beautiful! There are 14 miles of trails. We walked a 3 mile trail around Heron Marsh in approximately 1.5 hours. The trail is easy with very little change in elevation. The trails are well groomed and easy to follow.

Behind the main building is a hummingbird flower garden, there were at least 20 of them flitting around us as we tried to snap pictures. Amazing creatures to watch as they fly in place.

At one time NewYork State ran the two Visitor Interpretive Centers, but due to fiscal cutbacks, these were dropped from the NYS budget. Luckily, two local colleges took over the caretaking of the VICs. Thank you for doing so Paul Smith's College and SUNY/ESF!!! These are valuable resources to the people of NY state. All who visit can benefit from going to these nature centers.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Visitor Interpretive Center at Paul Smiths also viewed

Lake Placid, NY
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Visitor Interpretive Center at Paul Smiths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Visitor Interpretive Center at Paul Smiths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.