We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bests hosts we have ever had.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clark House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Clark House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Clark House Bed and Breakfast
3292 Route 23A, P.O. Box 465, Palenville, NY 12463-0465   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Palenville B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The bests hosts we have ever had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were so lucky to get into this B and B in the most perfect surroundings during the Fall at the height of its amazing colours. The accommodation was beautiful - much more so than is shown on the website. The house itself is lovely with a massive well tended garden with views of the mountains. The decor in the dining room, lounges and bedrooms was exquisite. Each en-suite room has a different theme- we had the American room and our son and daughter in law had the Asian room. Both were very comfortable and spacious with views of the nearby Catskills. The breakfasts were delicious, healthy and different each day. Our hosts Christine and Michael were really helpful with ideas for walks and drives during the day and the best places to dine out in the evenings. There was so much to do and see in the surrounding area - very pretty villages and towns, heavenly walks in the mountains with waterfalls everywhere all made easy for us to explore with the guidance and local knowledge of our hosts. The nearby Kaaterskills Falls are a must to visit. The atmosphere in the house was so friendly and warm with lovely touches like giving us all a glass of port in the pretty conservatory on our arrival.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Steventon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had a great stay at the Clark House. The room (although we picked their smallest) was comfortable and equipped fine, but what made the place stand out were the breakfasts, and the warm and friendly welcome. We only met Michael, as his wife Christine was away working, but he can really cook excellent, breakfasts (we note from other reports that Christine's a great cook too). The breakfasts we had at the Clark rate as our best breakfasts in our two weeks trip of Boston, New England and the north east. They were all home cooked and the style was mainly French, blended in with American influences. Michael was very helpful and gave us useful tips for what to see in the area, and where to eat (though for the latter, this B&B is not well placed for evening dining options), he was a really excellent host. The house itself tended to be a little dark, but there was a nice light lounge where you could sit, and this was full of useful brochures and information on where to go. We really enjoyed our stay, and would recommend it to any couples wanting to spend a break in this area.

Room Tip: We were in the American room, which is their smallest. Couples spending more than two nights might w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadsburyville,Pa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We recently spent two nights here at the Clark House to celebrate my mother in law's 95th birthday. We were treated like family from the moment we arrived. Christine greeted us all warmly and made my mother in law feel extra special. It was a hot day and when Christine asked if we would like iced tea we all answered yes. And how good it tasted! And not just because we were hot but because Christine added fresh mint and a raspberry-so good!
Christine showed us to our rooms- they were all on the 2nd floor but none of us had difficulty climbing The stairs.My husband and I stayed in the French Quarter room which was large and comfortable. Just a note, if you like to take showers, this room has a tub with just a hand held shower so you might want one of the other rooms, but we managed okay. My mother in law stayed in the American room and found it comfortable. My husband's cousin stayed in the Asian room and liked it.
There are no televisions in the rooms, but we didn't miss them at all(and this coming from a person who watches a lot of TV at home). We were out during the day and when we came back in early evening we loved sitting in the enclosed porch and sipping wine or drinking tea. Such a nice space for good conversation.
Breakfast is served from 8:30 to 10:30 and if you are up before 8:30, Michael or Christine offer you tea or coffee and serve you on the porch or in the parlor. The breakfasts were delicious. They are served in the lovely dining room. If you have dietary restrictions, let them know ahead of time and they will accommodate your needs. A very nice gesture on their part was putting a candle on the baked good the first morning we were there for my mother in law so we could all sing "Happy Birthday" to her. Such attention to detail was greatly appreciated and showed us what thoughtful people Michael and Christine are.
We were on our way home when my cell phone rang. It was Michael telling me that they had found jewelry that my mother in law had left in her room. He wanted her address so he could send it to her. I really appreciated that.
In all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: TheAsian room and French quarter room are at the front of the house and if the windows are open it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at The Clark House was the best experience we have ever had in our years of traveling. We had a beautiful room that was comfortable and relaxing, within perfect distance to Woodstock, Saugerties and Kingston. Our hosts were gracious and friendly, and treated us like family. Breakfasts were delicious and perfect. I give the Clark House my highest recommendation to couples looking for a great weekend getaway in the region.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in the 'house' that was booked for the whole family for a wedding next door at the Rip Van Winkle Country Club. Each room is uniquely decorated/themed. The main lobby is cozy, full of ideas for things to do. The dining room is eclectic with a Victorian feel, paintings of flowers, live plants, and the table is set and ready to sit at. Breakfasts are delicious, Christine is a wonderful breakfast cook in the French style. Michael is informative and generous with information. There was an artist show in town and they lent their barn as a gallery.
The beds are comfortable. The bride and groom shared the attic suite, large, light and lovely, with air-conditioning.
There are photos of the owners, family and friends, and you feel like a guest in their home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Michael & Christine are lovely inn keepers. My friends and I took over this B & B for a wedding weekend. The owners could not have been more delightful. Christine is from France and cooks a fabulous breakfast. Michael if from London and is so helpful - they both are. We stayed on the 2nd floor in the blue room (with a nautical theme). The bathroom is small and there isn't much counterspace as there are knick knacks everywhere - but it is fine for a few days. We just moved stuff around. The location is good - we were able to drive to Cooperstown, Kykuit, Woodstock and the Van Buren Mansion. This was in addition to attending a wedding and all the related wedding festivities. It was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everything about our visit to the Clark House was first rate: accomodations, breakfast, and atmosphere. You can't do better. Michael and Christine are great hosts and the location puts you near all you need in the Catskills.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clark House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clark House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3292 Route 23A, P.O. Box 465, Palenville, NY 12463-0465
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Palenville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Palenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clark House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clark House Bed And Breakfast Catskill Region/Palenville, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clark House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.