We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Super 8” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Corning Inn

Save Saved
You added Corning Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Corning Inn
255 South Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870 (Formerly Corning/Painted Post Super 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Painted Post
Richmond Hill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old Super 8”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Old furnishings. Old TV. Clean room and bathroom. Bathroom ceiling needed a little repair. Wifi was a good connection. Quiet room. Breakfast was good with a little less selection. Basic no frills hotel. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
22
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lindenwold, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Corning Inn for two nights for a kamikaze winery trip. I was a little wary even with the decent reviews here considering the price per night. Usually, you get what you pay for. I needn't have worried. The hotel was clean-if you don't look too close. There were some burn holes in the blankets, and some stains here and there, but it was basically clean. Bathroom was spotless-big points. Considering this was no frills, it was fine. We brought our own coffee maker, and had some issues plugging it in-we messed up the cable tv line but were able to fix it.
We forgot our coffee(oops)-there is a Walmart two minutes down the road. Also an Applebees where we had dinner the first night. Food was good. The only complaint I have is that they don't serve too much local wine-I guess because it's a chain,but they did have Dr. Franks. Staff was friendly and attentive. But I'm getting off point.

Back to the hotel-the lady at the front desk seemed confused about who I was. Apparently there was another guest with a similar name. Luckily I had brought my reservation confirmation, and that was settled. I suggest you bring yours as well.

I think we had the only smoking room in the whole hotel. There was no ashtray-a bit odd. We had to ask for one and there seemed to be only one. Not sure what that's all about. Also the bed was like a board-extremely uncomfortable. I would suggest they upgrade. Not good for the back at all. Also the room was oddly set up-the bed was pushed all the way over to the right-only one bedside table. But these are minor issues.

We did not have breakfast so I can't comment on that. We bought donuts at Walmart-more than adequate as we were planning on a big lunch.

It was pretty quiet considering we were right off the interstate. Isolated and convenient at the same time.

I would definitely stay here again. Price was great- I got a deal at $55 a night. Ask for the lowest rate when you call. Even at the regular rate of $65 a night it's still a bargain. It is also a drive to the lakes-it took us an hour to get to Bully Hill winery, and another hour to get to Canandaigua, but the scenery is beautiful so we didn't mind the drive at all.

If you stay anywhere near the lakes you will pay over $100 a night. Spend it on wine instead!

Room Tip: We had a room in the back on the second floor-less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Corning Inn is a basic motel. But it was very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. If you would like an economical, no-frills but reasonably comfortable accomodation, then this is the place for you. The free wifi connection was good and the free breakfast was adequate to get you started on the day. The Corning Inn was quite a bit cheaper than other places we looked at in the Corning area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked the room for the price.The room was clean and neat. Although we booked a non-smoking room, the non-smoking signs had been removed from the door to the room. The staff was friendly and helpful. A good experience at a great price.

Room Tip: Second floor room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised to find clean and hospitable accommodations at Corning Inn. Yes, the rooms/furniture are basic and somewhat outdated, disappointment will ensue only for those with unrealistic expectations! For budget travelers, the Corning Inn delivers all the essentials: spotless bathroom, fresh linens, comfortable beds and friendly service. Though breakfast offerings (muffins, bananas, cereal and beverages) looked adequate I opted for $6 hot breakfast at Jelly Beans down the street. Would gladly come again.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed over for one night a few days ago returning from Northeast. Very convenient and seemingly safe location off I-86 near Corning. Clean, quiet and comfortable room with cold A/C, clean fridge and microwave. Staff was very friendly, rates are reasonable, continental breakfast not huge, but certainly adequate. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 8 nights in the Corning Inn and had a very pleasant experience. The rooms are clean, bed was comfortable, and staff very friendly. It is an older hotel but owners are working hard to upgrade and remodel. Continental breakfast was adequate and they even have a guest laundry. No pool. If you need a reasonably priced hotel with basic accommodations, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corning Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corning Inn

Also Known As:
Corning Hotel
Address: 255 South Hamilton St, Painted Post, NY 14870 (Formerly Corning/Painted Post Super 8)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Painted Post
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Corning Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corning Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.