We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a night on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   200 Robert Dann Drive, Painted Post, NY 14870-9102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for a night on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

First off, we got to meet Scott while we were there, and all the other reviews on Scott and the rest of the staff we met are spot on! First off if you are expecting a 'resort' or well appointed rooms, why are you reading a review on an Econolodge? That being said the room was well furnished, comfortable bed, heat worked well, bathroom was a bit worn, but clean. Exactly what we would expect from a motel at this price point. Breakfast included a cereal and juice bar as well as wafflemaker, bacon and french toast. We were visiting the Corning Museum of Glass and arrived earlier than expected, about 1:30 PM, checked right in and the clerk who checked us in told us about 'Sparkle' and recomended that for a holiday festival while there. Lots of choices to eat close by, from Applebee's to Arby's. Quiet, convenient, and friendly. We used a coupon from hotelcoupons.com for an even better rate. All in all the reviews here and particularly those who mentioned Scott and the rest of the staff were one of the reasons we selected the Econolodge. My experience is if the staff is friendly and outgoing, they are proud of the property and the property is generally going to satisfy our needs. When we returned to the motel after dinner and an afternoon at the museum we were greeted by deer in the field next to the parking lot, warm fresh cookies and popcorn in the lobby. All in all an enjoyable stay and will stay again when we come back!

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, no elevator so first floor if you have a lot of stuff to carry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELPPManager, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review on our hotel! I have shared your kind words with Scott, as well as our other staff members,who greatly appreciates your positive feedback. We strive to have excellent customer service and reviews like yours help to reinforce that with my staff.

I am glad to hear that your bed was comfortable, your room was clean, and that our breakfast was enjoyable. I am also happy to hear that you were able to get checked in early.

We hope to see you again soon, and if you come back in the spring or summertime our deer in the field are also accompanied by some cute ducks that visit us!

Sincerely,
Jackie DePue
General Manager
Econo Lodge Painted Post
607-962-4444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    18
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
29
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in October 2013, and would stay here again. The staff were super friendly helpful and courteous. Beds were comfortable and was told they were new. The bathroom needed to be updated but was clean, The staff I spoke with informed me the hotel is due for a major renovation.
The hotel is close to Corning, also a Walmart other stores and restuarants across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELPPManager, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor review for our hotel!

We are so glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable, and that our staff was helpful and friendly.

We are currently putting renovations together, and bathrooms are first on our list to be updated. Thank you again for your feedback!

Sincerely,
Jackie DePue
General Manager
Econo Lodge Painted Post
607-962-4444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this motel in October 2013 and we were very satisfied with it. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Scott who was on night duty. No matter what time we left the room, housekeeping was there to clean and restock the room. The breakfast was average for a mid-priced place but I would have liked fresh fruit or at least some kind of fruit cup. The room was very clean and so was the bathroom. The shower was difficult to understand and I needed to call the front desk for help. They told me the motel would be getting major renovations next year, replacing shower fixtures and installing an elevator for the second floor. This motel is pet friendly but does not have a pool or exercise room and the air conditioner is a bit noisy. It is close to Watkins Glen and Corning, NY. We have stayed here before and would stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the left side of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM124, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be helpful. I am also glad that you found the room to be clean and comfortable and that the location is convenient for your needs.

We are currently in the planning process of renovations but at this point no details have been determined.

I hope that you are in the area again so that we can have another opportunity to provide you with a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

They try hard to accommodate, have popcorn and cookies, free internet and breakfast, but the rooms are just not good. Women at the desk did find a non-smoking room for us after we had been put in a smoking room. But we ordered a non-smoking room originally. Terrible pillows, old cracked sinks. Needs an update. I know its a cheap hotel, but just not good at any price.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM124, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the popcorn and cookies in the lobby.

I apologize that you were unhappy with your accomodations. We are currently in the process of planning a renovation to the property and all input that we receive will be used in the planning process.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again on a future trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this motel a few weeks ago. We visited a few state parks (Letchworth and Watkins Glen) and were just looking for a place to spend the night, so we ended up there. On the outside the location looked fine, safe and close to the highway.
The man at the desk was super nice and for not much money we got a a nice room, clean, firm beds, with a fridge. A nice surprise: there was free popcorn and coffee, even late at night. In the morning there was breakfast, with more choice than in most motels. In future, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELPPManager, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words on our hotel.

We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our popcorn and cookies that evening!

We look forward to seeing you the next time you stop in our area.

Sincerely,
Jackie DePue
General Manager
Econo Lodge Painted Post
607-962-4444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We tend to shy away from Econolodges because several that we have stayed at have not been in the best of shape. However, we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the Econolodge in Painted Post is. Our reservations were accurate, check-in and check-out were both fast, the hot breakfast was very good, the rooms, while somewhat dated, were generally clean and comfortable, and fresh cookies and popcorn were available at check-in. We have stayed in Comfort Inns that have been no where near as nice as this Econolodge.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so first floor rooms are easier to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELPPManager, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely pleased to hear that you decided to give our hotel a chance, and were pleasantly surprised, as we strive to make our hotel the best it can be. We are glad you found your rooms to be comfortable, and enjoyed both the breakfast and our popcorn and cookies that evening.

We hope to see you again next time you come to our area!

Sincerely,
Jackie DePue
General Manager
Econo Lodge Painted Post
607-962-4444
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flushing, ny
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Centrally located between lots of waterfalls & colorful Finger lake Towns, this was our very comfortable home-away-from-home for two nights. Very clean accomodations, the most cnfortable beds in memory & delightful, well organized & efficient staff. We would stay here again without question!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if climbing to the 2nd storey is an issue, ask for the man floor. Hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM124, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to visit the local waterfalls. The waterfalls are a beautiful addition to our area. I am glad that your bed was comfortable and that the staff was helpful. Everyone here strives to make each guest's visit enjoyable so I will be happy to pass your feedback on to everyone at the hotel.

I hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 200 Robert Dann Drive, Painted Post, NY 14870-9102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Painted Post
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Painted Post
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Painted Post
Econolodge Painted Post
Painted Post Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.