We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing around the motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites JFK Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites JFK Airport to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites JFK Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111-26 Van Wyck Expwy, Ozone Park, NY 11420   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ozone Park
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nothing around the motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights in May of 2014. The motel is very basic. The rooms are nice, comfortable beds but indoor lighting is very little. The view I had was of the highway so nothing great to see except cars stuck in a traffic jam. Parking is very limited at the motel so you have to park at the adjacent road if parking is full. The breakfast is ok for a continental breakfast, choices are very limited. Also, its not near a subway station so you have to take the shuttle to the airport and then get yourself to Jamaica station to get on the subway.
Overall, I thought i paid too high of a price for such a motel (~$150 / night) and didnt get what I deserve but I guess thats what you pay in NY for such a motel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    58
    35
    33
See reviews for
66
55
35
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mass
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

How long would you wait for a hotel shuttle pick up at JFK airport? I waited for 55 minutes, and the van arrived when I was going to catch a cab. Definitely not a good idea for a cold winter day. The vans for all other thinkable chains came 2-3 times during the wait - Days Inn, Hilton Garden Inn, Hilton, Hampton Court, Comfort Inn, etc - I recommend reserving these instead, unless you're happy to wait for an hour. The dispatcher said that La Quinta tended to be slow but would come around, so it doesn't seem to be just this day. The hotel phone wasn't working (The receptionist said that the area had lost phone service due to a storm), and there was no way of canceling the reservation or asking where a shuttle is ...

Inside the hotel was not bad, the room was clean and bright. The bed is rather small but OK for one person. The hotel was short-staffed, and I was asked to come down to the front desk to pick up things that were missing in the room!

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, ask for a room far from the elevator. It beeps every time it moves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotels is a little ways from the airport, on the service road of a freeway, and surrounded by a neighborhood of houses, shops and a small park. Although not particularly welcoming from the outside, once inside it is clean, modern, nicely decorated and well kept. Everyone that I interacted with was efficient. The queen room I had was on the back of the hotel and was small but comfortable for a night sleep. The linens were fresh and the bed had 3 pillow, all of them plump and comfortable. The AC/heating unit is in the room so it can be as warm or as cool as the guest wants the room to be. Noise was not an issue, although there appeared to be a nightclub behind the hotel with constant music. Once the window was closed, the noise was gone. The bathroom was roomy and furnished with large, thick bath sheets, soap, shampoo and tissues. The shuttle to/from JFK is free and runs every hour on the hour in the morning and was exactly on time the morning I rode it to the airport. From the airport, the shuttle picks ups at Federal Circle (the stop after Terminal 8 on the airtrain). It is a good idea to call the hotel for pick up and they will come right over. From the hotel to the airport, the shuttle goes directly to the terminal for drop off. Free breakfast is offered from 7:30 am to 9:30am but I was gone by 7am so cannot comment on it. No complaints about the room, the service or the price. For a comfortable place to stay at a reasonable rate, this hotel fills the bill.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have stayed in many lg properties but this one (stay away). We stayed for 1.5 nights and our room wreaked of sweat, the night stand had someone's paperwork in it who had been arrested. One of the best things about laquinta is their beds. This one bought thin foam mattresses and didn't even have an innerspring under it they layed it over plywood. So consequently when you sunk into the foam you were laying on the hard plywood. most lq hotels we have stayed in tried to make your stay comfortable. This hotel was a joke. The carpet in the halls was laid crooked from one end of the hall to the other it was at least 4 to 6 inches out of line.. Every. Corner was cut at this hotel to save money. It does not deserve to be a laquinta. Inn. They don't have enough parking either.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We only stayed here for a night between our flights. If you want to stay longer, don't stay here. The rooms are much smaller than they appear in photos and although they look clean, they stink. It's also very noisy because of the highway. Bathrooms are clean and big enough. There's a free shuttle service from/to JFK. However, you need to walk to the shuttle area for the service to the hotel. On the way back, they drop you to your desired Terminal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

What you will not find on their website nor did the front desk clerk advise us on is that you need to get the Air Train to the hotel shuttle area. And that there are two Air Trains, only one of which goes to the Federal Circle stop. The other takes you just to the terminals. This is important information to have if you have 4 checked, 4 carry-ons and a small dog on a leash. If you have a children, I'm sure it will be event more challenging. The king-size bedroom with microwave and fridge is cramped even for 2 normally sized people. Would be uncomfortable if you are a large person. Room was clean. Heating/AC unit loud but it drowns out the road & hall noises. this is not the place to stay if you are counting on finding a casual restaurant where you can have dinner and wine. We walked about a one-mile range in four directions. You want a deli or other take-out, you're in luck. Some people might not feel comfortable walking through this aging residential area. If you plan on arriving alone, well-fed, with little luggage and tired enough to pass out, this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on roadside if you're sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites JFK Airport

Address: 111-26 Van Wyck Expwy, Ozone Park, NY 11420
Location: United States > New York > Ozone Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ozone Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites JFK Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jfk Airport Hotel Ozone Park
La Quinta Inn And Suites Jfk Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites JFK Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.