We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113-18 Rockaway Blvd, Ozone Park, NY 11420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ozone Park
Barbados
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel is not one of the best i did not book this hotel i was sent here because the hotel i book over sold and they said the this hotel is where i have to go and it offers the same stuff as them , when i got there i saw a different side to the story but i had no choice but to stay , the rooms are very poor the breakfast is junk and they are to many stairs , Allan at the front desk was very mannerly and helpful.

Stay here if you have no choice .

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    4
    6
    15
See reviews for
4
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I agree with some comments that the room has a musty smell and the pillows are flat . I did laugh initially when I read that but they were non existent. The room was okay for the money and great location. You get the q10 for terminal 5 it's not far. The breakfast was fine - toast , muffins, doughnuts and cereal with coffee, tea or fruit juice. However the staff aren't the most helpful and u don't even get a ' enjoy yr stay ' ur welcome' etc ,when we left the staff don't even say bye! One guy was good he helped us find shops and the bus stop though. We was staying in room 106 on the road across from the deli.what a noisy street we was kept awake first night due to someone's party but it was holiday weekend so weren't to bothered . One last comment . U can hear through the walls and how delightful that was hearing people 'making out' .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were going to the Resorts World casino and this place is within walking distance. We've been here before and knew what we were getting into as far as the accomodations. We just needed a place to sleep before the hour drive home. We got out of the car and immediately smelled a strong marijuana odor. We go inside, and the clerk was rude and tried to talk us out of the large room with two beds. We took the queen room even though it was small because we just wanted to get it done, and the clerk took a very long time running our credit card. He finally tells us the card was declined...which we knew was impossible...and he demanded cash only. So we gave him cash and planned to call the bank later. We get to the room and we get an email from the bank that Econolodge has a $130 hold on the account for the night's stay!!! So we go to the clerk, who claims it was all a mistake...and after a lot of attempts on his part to "find the mistake" we get the cash back. We also get the larger room for our trouble....not because he offered but because we demanded it. Turns out, we get the room that seemed to be the source of the marijuna smell. No wash cloths or hand towels in the bathroom. It was a smoking room but there was no ashtray, and there was visible filth inside the heater/ac unit. The sink was stopped up and the toilet wouldn't flush. Stay away from this place. If I could give it no stars I would!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else but if you can't avoid staying here check your credit card statement!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ozone Park hotels

Beamsville, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

stayed hear after flight cancelation . would probably have been better staying in air port . room pushed out hot and cold air. bathroom had no heating. at 5 am only lukewarm water that that run cold after a few seconds . No elevator and stars looked like they were about to collapse .Not sure were the photos of rooms came from .I went and checed address to see if i had the right places the photos of the rooms were not like any I saw. I did not see any like this . Shutel to air port was suspect. smelt of smoke. If you get stuck at the airport and are thinking of booking a room hear you may do better to sleep at the air port with is worm and has hot water.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Quite cheap hotel for being in NY but with many negative points. Rooms are very small. No breakfast room. Impolite staff. Located on the main road and very noisy, also, It's quite far from Manhattan. It takes a long time to reach the city centre by transportations and by car you can even spend the whole day stacked in the traffic. My advise........with few dollars more, It's better to choose a small hotel in Queens.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here the day before I had to fly out as some kind of "romantic" last night so I looked up hotels with in room jacuzzis near the airport and this place was it. The jacuzzi area was absolutely gorgeous and the front desk sold bubble bath too so that was a nice touch.

The room was ok. A generic near the airport hotel room. We definitely got ripped off by the driver the hotel called. JFK was maybe 5 miles away and we paid $20 to get there. Total crap. Should have argued but we were running late.

Here's why you shouldn't stay here... Nothing worth while is nearby and our room was right off the lobby so we heard people yelling all night long. I don't know how a hotel lobby could be involved in that many arguments but they were literally all night long and very loud. Plus I didn't like the thought of my room being right there. The man was super nice when we were checking in and there was no problems so I don't know why there was yelling all night.

Anyways, don't stay here. It sucks. Unless you are desperate for a jacuzzi room. But even then. Stay away.

Room Tip: Get the Jacuzzi room. It's shockingly impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgå
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed at Econo Lodge for 1 night during a transfer my husband and I and we came to choose this hotel because of the location and price. All private accomodations in New York is very expensive and getting this hotel for 100 USD for 1 night for 2 persons was a bargain. Price and proximity to JFK were our main criterias. The check in was smooth and staff friendly. There was a vending machine in the lobby and an ATM. A kiosk and restaurant just a stone throw away. Our room was very sufficient for us. The bed was not the most comfortable but then again we paid double up for a hotel in Brooklyn and got the most uncomfortable bed ever. The suitability of each bed is personal and what I might find horrible is the best bed for the next... The bed though only had a sheet + the day cover, but no actual sleeping cover. Many people like to sleep with a thin sheet only.. The room had a sufficient A/C device, a television, a writing desk and clothes closet. I took a long shower in the bathroom and didn't find the bathroom insufficient at all. The breakfast was very thin. There was coffee, tea and some cereals. For the price and the proximity I recommend this hotel for short term accomodation. The taxi from JFK to Ozone Park on the evening of arrival was 17 USD and the car service ride (which probably was the receptionist's or hotel owner's friend) the next morning back to JFK was 20 USD. We found it a bit weird that instead of a taxi we got a private person giving us a ride but didn't find it suspect as in case of disagreement the driver could have been traced back to the hotel. It wasn't like we were hitchhiking..So to sum it all up. If you are not willing to pay much more than 100 USD/night for a stay, you can very well stay at Econo Lodge coz it's not bad at all. We noticed no mold or bed bugs which seems to be common in NYC hotels.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any special rooms as the hotel cannot brag with beautiful views or speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 113-18 Rockaway Blvd, Ozone Park, NY 11420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Ozone Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ozone Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ozone Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.