We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning - Hooker Hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113-18 Rockaway Blvd, Ozone Park, NY 11420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ozone Park
Bay Area
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Warning - Hooker Hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Beware - this is a place that rents out to hourly clients. The neighborhood is worse than sketchy, the vending machine sells condoms/lube. We unknowingly booked it thru Expedia, but wouldn't stay there. The front desk clerk seemed surprised to see us and didn't bill us, but we were left without a place to stay which was a real inconvenience the night before our 7am flight back home.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    4
    6
    19
See reviews for
5
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle,UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

This had to be the worst place we have ever stayed! The rooms were manky, the bathroom was falling to bits, the area was dodgy, the night time behaviour of our neighbours was...well, we reckon she was getting paid, the staff were noisy and the breakfast was pants. Don't let me put you off though! The only positive was ....well I found $20 in the foyer !

  • Liked — Finding $20 in the foyer
  • Disliked — Do you really have to ask!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

Booked the hotel due to its low cost, proximity to JFK, and the brand name of the chain.

Hotel smelled like urine as did the room, and the room had fecal matter on the toilet. There was a towel under the bed (with a cockroach by it) and the furniture was in disarray with garbage behind the nightstand. Checked out within an hour.

I would highly recommend people look for other JFK adjacent hotels and pay he high NYC rates rather than chance it at this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Sanitation
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

I unfortunately hurt myself traveling so I needed a first floor hotel room or a place with elevator access. If you need either or these, make sure that you don't book online because most of the rooms on the first floor seem to be rented out "hourly". The location seems to be in a not so nice area; I arrived at night and was not impressed. The phone in the first room did not work, it was dirty, and the lock on the window would not work. I had to switch rooms to a smoking room (the only room left). That room was pretty dirty as well and the heat in it didn't work. There are no other locking mechanisms on the door besides the flimsy door one. I do not recommend this hotel if you are a female traveling alone. The price is cheaper than most hotels near the JFK airport, however, you cannot put a price on safety. Spend a little more, it's worth it. I would take a hotel in a 3rd world country (again) over this one.

  • Liked — Close to JFK
  • Disliked — It wasn't clean and the environment was not safe.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 113-18 Rockaway Blvd, Ozone Park, NY 11420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Ozone Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ozone Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Ozone Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.