We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent recommendation from our friends ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheldrake Point Winery

Sheldrake Point Winery
7448 County Road 153, Ovid, NY 14521
607-532-9401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Ovid
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“An excellent recommendation from our friends ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely location, off the beaten track on the west side of Cayuga Lake. Enthusiastic and knowledgeable server who was very comfortable talking in detail about the wines. Interesting variety of wine including a delicious ice wine which is well made though pricey. Unlike other area wineries, this ice wine is made in the traditional manner of handpicking the frozen grapes in the dead of winter. Good selection of cheese, crackers, etc. available for purchase for picnics. A nice selection of wine came home with us!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had so much fun here, and unfortunately we almost skipped it.

Our server, Rubin, was extremely friendly and knowledgeable and went above and beyond. We had so much fun tasting and talking that we almost went back on day 2!!

The wines were yummy, and the view is beautiful.

I would recommend stopping here and adding it to your trip over any other winery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Impressed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited for wine tasting and was delighted with the quality of wine available. The highlights were the Riesling and the adorable Ice Wine - sheer bliss! Staff were also very knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE USA
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon stop; great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice variety of wines and the perfect tasting offerings for our mid-week afternoon visit. Professional and personable personnel. Our tasting catered to what we wanted to try and compare.
We were quite happy with a nice selection of local cheeses & meats available for purchase.
I recommend Sheldrake Point Winery for visit and tastings of their wines and you will learn a little something about their blends.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Treated like V.I.P's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited this winery on a boat tour from Cayuga Lake, with Skip's Isle of Skye boat. It was our first of three stops. Short walk up a driveway (10 mins) and then a beautiful tasting room and gift shop. While 10 or so other visitors were all at the tasting bar, our group from the boat was ushered into the "private" section by the patio doors, where we were seated at a table and leisurely hosted through our tasting! Extremely knowledgeable host Rusty knew a great deal about all the wines, and was very professional. Many delicious wines; we bought several bottles, esp. their whites. Lovely experience!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheldrake Point Winery also viewed

 

Been to Sheldrake Point Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheldrake Point Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.