We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite B & B on our favorite Finger Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ovid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
7401 Wyers Point Road, Finger Lakes Region, Ovid, NY 14521   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Ovid B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite B & B on our favorite Finger Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've been enjoying the Driftwood on Cayuga at least once a year for the past 6 years. We find that it meets our comfort level. Jim and Tammy are accommodating hosts, the rooms are clean and the beds are great for a good night's sleep. I grew up in a town close to the FL area and was lucky enough to spend summer weekends and vacations on this lake since the 1940s so it has a special place in my heart. My husband loves sitting on the porch and just watching fish jump out of the water. The swimming is good there too and we love our walks along the lake road. We've stayed in all the rooms except #3 and find that all are comfortable. From a 2nd floor window you can actually see the bottom of that clear clean lake out to about 15 feet from shore. Rosemary Colaizzi, Pittsburgh Pa

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed here twice--first to relax and recover after surgery and secondly to relax and recover after a hard week at work. Now we find ourselves finding excuses to come here! The setting is pristine and crisp right on the shore of Cayuga Lake; and we love falling asleep to the sound of waves lapping on the shore just beneath our window. Sheldrake Point winery is a few hundred yards down the road, also along the shore. Fresh vegetables, fruit, and flowers abound from neighboring farms. Good restaurants are nearby in the area. And that's just the attractions outside the Inn! Inside, the rooms are charming and clean, the breakfast is healthy and beautiful, and the hosts are energetic and upbeat. We even bought local treats and enjoyed dinner, just the two of us, on the front porch overlooking the lake and a gorgeous sunset. We may stay so long the next time that they kick us out.

Room Tip: Most rooms in the Inn overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We wanted to spend a couple of days at a B & B in the Finger Lakes on our way to Maine and this was the perfect place. The rooms were well appointed and taken care of. I liked the utility room where you could select a beverage or snacks on the honesty plan. The refrig also gave you a place to put items you wanted to keep cool. The view of the lake from the porch with a cup of coffee or a glass of wine is a great way to begin or finish the day. Breakfast was served in a lovely sun room or the dining room. Jim is a great cook and will sing with a little encouragement. The first morning we had an egg dish and second a sweet dish and they were both wonderful. Tammy and Jimmy were always available for tips, suggestions and our needs. They are great hosts and I would stay/recommend this little piece of heaven on the water.

Room Tip: We stayed in # 1 and liked it because it faced the lake. I did not see any of the other rooms but wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is my favorite family vacation destination, wonderful Hosts - Tammy and Sammy! A wonderful property right on the lake with stellar views, especially sunsets from the porch. Rooms in the main house are clean and well appointed, beds, carpet, windows are new and make for a comfortable stay. All of the "out buildings" are well kept and suitable for couples to large families. I have stayed many times at the Driftwood and each stay has revealed upgrades and new recipes for breakfast, they definitely aim to please. See you soon!!
Bill M

Room Tip: I like Room 2 on the north west corner of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I decided on the spur of the moment to go to the finger lakes, with no reservations. On the trip up, we were lucky to find this little gem available as most B&B's were booked. It is a nice little farmhouse, with a great view of the lake (actually about 20' from the lake). We had room number 3, which is the smallest, and the bathroom is across the hall, but it and the bathroom were very nice. The wineries are nearby and there are a few restaurants just down the road as well. We would definitely go back! The owners Jim & Tammy were very nice and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

we stayed for 3 nights, and our hosts jim and tammy could not have been more cordial! house is quite old, and has that kind of character. very modern and up to date room furnishings, and beddings. our room (#6) was the highest room, and the only room on the 3rd floor. it was quiet and clean and had a spectacular view. we recommend this b & b to anyone. (was directly on the lake, not across the road as others are!) by the by, the breakfasts were clever, fresh,and filling! exfellent job by the hosts! would return in a heartbeat! recommended for everyone!

Room Tip: as noted above room 6 is the only room on the 3rd floor. requires an additional flight of stairs, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent two nights in the main house. The facility is very clean and the owners are friendly without being intrusive. The house is a bit worn in spots but did not detract from our enjoyment. The breakfasts were delicious (omelet one day and French toast the other, both served with fresh fruit, juice and coffee). Our room was spacious, although the bathroom was quite small. I brought a couple of my own towels - just in case- as previous posters had complained about poor quality bathroom towels. Perhaps the owner read the posts and replaced them, because ours were fine. It was nice to have a kitchen area to put our drinks and food, just down the hall from our room. The porch and lawn with plenty of chairs was a nice place to relax at the end of the day. There were kayaks and a rowboat for guest use, but we didn't have time to use them. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7401 Wyers Point Road, Finger Lakes Region, Ovid, NY 14521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ovid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ovid
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Driftwood Inn is located directly on the shore of Cayuga lake, in the heart of the Finger lakes region. The main house which has 6 guest rooms all with private bathrooms is a perfect choice for a romantic get away! Also on the property are 4 family cottages ranging in size and price, these are all rented by the week only. We offer 260 feet of water frontage and a dock that extends 140 feet. With your stay we offer a paddle boat, kayaks, and a row boat for your use. We are also within easy driving distance to area wineries and state parks. Ithaca is just a short 20 minute drive from our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Ovid
Driftwood Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Driftwood Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list